We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best placed I have stayed at on the island”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Black Skimmer

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best placed I have stayed at on the island”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Need I say more that my title didnt. I have been coming to the island twice a year for the past 10 years. This is by far the best house I have stayed at. I only eished I booked my September vacation sooner since this house was already booked :(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Black Skimmer! It is a great home with room for everyone, not to mention the pool and game room :) As you know, it is very popular so you typically have to book early. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty8003
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Property was large enough.”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this property was great. You can walk to the veterans park which is behind the property. There was a game room, guest house and a pool. Plenty of deck and chairs for relaxing. However, the house was a little dated and not very clean.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Hi Patty, thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay - Black Skimmer is a wonderful home! However, we are disappointed to hear that the cleaning was not satisfactory. Many improvements have been made within our housekeeping department, including "clean quality inspections" to ensure our guests arrive to a fresh, clean home. Likewise, the Owners of Black Skimmer are constantly improving and updating the home. Again, thank you and we hope to see you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the pool
Liked least: the misquotes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Hi Chip! Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Black Skimmer. It is a great home and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing