We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”
Review of Tom's Cove Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Cove Park
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ended up at Tom's Cove after having a horrible experience at another camping property. This should have definitely been our first choice. The camp sites are a great size. Enough to fit a 10 person tent our car, camp fire and picnic table. We had a great view of the water and bot launch and went out at caught our own clams and oysters. The people here are super friendly we made friends with a lot of new people. The staff was great and the bathrooms were always kept clean. It was a little crowded, but it was Memorial Day weekend and every one was very respectful of noise and space. A lot of the people who were there are people who have been coming since they were kids and their parents went there too. Overall, a great place and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was a bit skeptical about camping in Chincoteague as all the campsites have several horror story reviews. I went with Tom's Cove mainly because they were having a huge all you can eat seafood festival. I would call this more of an All Night dance party Nascar Redneck tailgate, and less "camping". We had a good time, for our one night stay, but we probably will never return.

The first thing that I find hilarious is that this campground does not allow you to make reservations online or even through a telephone call. Instead you have to mail them a check using something called mail (I think it is the paper form of e-mail). It was very easy and I had no issues. However, I imagine that this business loses out on hundreds of customers with their mail policy. Just signs of a poorly run business stubbornly set in their ways. And no, this is not "charming" or "part of the allure" of this place. It is a stupid business decision. However, since people stay away it means more sites are open, which is good. I'm fine with this policy.

The check-in process was easy. The people don't help you with a smile on their face, but they weren't mean or anything. I asked for a waterside site in my reservation letter and was shocked to find out that they gave us one. The waterside sites are really cool (but $60 per night), close to the fishing pier too. They also seem to open/close the camp store whenever, so get all the firewood you need before it gets dark.

Now on to the camping. I'm sorry, I mean the Nascar tailgate...

First thing you will notice about this campground is that there is a huge chunk of trailers for permanent residents. You might call this a trailer park...because...it is one. Outside of those there are several campsites jam packed onto the property.

Each site has a picnic table but does not have a fire ring. This wasn't really a problem. The sites are pretty small, but no issues for us with one car and one giant tent. You will most likely have people on both sides of you, very very close. The guys next to us had their trucks parked partially on our turf. We didn't care.

Also if you are waterside, don't be surprised if people walk all over your campsite to look at the water. One guy even used our picnic table...what?! They won't even say "excuse me". Another guy came over, i kid you not, with 8 hamburger buns, walked past us sitting in our camp chairs, and threw the burger buns on the ground and walked away...

You will notice a lot of people driving around on golf carts. You will also notice a lot of people walking around drinking beer and cursing. I would NOT take kids here, no way in hell. Some groups even drank all day, then piled into cars and drove to the bar, then drove back. So always be vigilant.

On the night we stayed (Saturday night) some campers had music blasting til midnight. When I say blasting I mean it sounded like Shaggy was singing "shorty you're my angel" directly into my ear when it was coming from 30 campsites down. (their mix tape, not mine)

The people were having a dance party, playing cornhole, and drinking like fish. Til MIDNIGHT!!! The campground DOES NOT care about noise, so if you want to have an all night tailgate, this is your spot. Make your bedtime around midnight or be angry.

I actually thought this was cool and you can just walk around and join other camper parties which is fun. It did bother me when I was sleepy and my tent was shaking from the bass. (It literally could be heard from 1/2 mile outside the campground). The campers are all friendly (albeit drunk) and they will share beer, firewood, food, or whatever you want.

The fishing pier was nice and very close to our site. The camp store is also convenient when it is open. The clubhouse/arcade was not open at this time. Since we were there just 1 night we didn't even use the showers. They looked ok.

Overall we didn't think Chincoteague had much to offer. If we returned to the island we would either have another binge drinking camp party for one night or stay at a hotel/b&b. But we'd most likely make that sloppy drunk fest party at Tom's Cove Park over the other choices in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Seriously? No credit cards? No on-line or phone reservations? It's like they have just dug their heels in and said "heck no, we won't modernize!" Once you get past that, it's a good place. The bath houses are dated, but absolutely clean. Good hot water. Sites are decent sized. No fire rings. Lots of seasonal renters, but they're in a separate area. Location on the inlet is interesting. Three separate crabbing/fishing piers. We were there before things got busy, and the store was pretty bare. Not well stocked at all. Might be better later. Not muddy or dirty, and the sandy soil drains well, which was good because it rained like heck while we were there. The staff we interacted wth were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Loop N was our choice. Big pine trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portfoliofotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Camped out here for fathers day last year, it was a blast. Awesome place, awesome atmosphere.. Just bring lots of bug spray!! Great for fishing, crabbing, even did some clamming and got some GREAT mussels right at the camp ground as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hoovey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We bring our children and grandchildren to this campground every summer for a family get-together. Yes, the reservation system is outdated, but that is one of the appeals of this campground. They still follow the values of honest, old fashioned fun. The bathrooms are clean. The country store does not jack up it's prices. The campground maintains a quiet period from 11 pm to 7 am and enforces it. And the best parts are the 3 piers and marina (if you have a boat). We camp on the waterfront sites, and can catch crabs, gather oysters or dig for clams at low tide. We've also caught our limit of flounder right off the bank in front of our camper. Our family can't wait to come here every year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindast8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our first visit and would return again. We enjoyed a waterfront campsite with spectacular views of the inlet, Assateague Island and most importantly the ponies. If you're an ornithologist, it does not get much better. The campground is divided into three major areas with permanent, overnight and storage sites. All well maintained and kept cleaned. Our only suggestions would be to update the bathhouses in the overnight sections which while clean, are heavily worn. Paving of the gravel roads to keep the dust down would add tremendously to the quality of life and enjoyment of the campground.

Room Tip: Campsites 1 through 22 offer the best views of the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKM127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this is a large park with predominantly year round static caravans. the camping area is small but nice with trees and large plots for each tent, along with a picnic table and fire area. the bathroom and showers are old but functional and clean. the pool is lovely and large for a campsite. the staff were friendly and helpful in directing us to somewhere for dinner and to shop.
near the tent area is a small crabbing/fishing pier - one morning we got there to find we had just missed a dolphin by 10minutes.
the only problem we found was the other guests who were noisy - the first night we had very loud music being played till 9pm, the second night was a group of noisy girl scouts :) not much that the staff can do about that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susannah365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
810 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,295 reviews
2 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
195 reviews
2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Cove Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Cove Park

Address: 8128 Beebe Rd, PO Box 122, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1407
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 913
Also Known As:
Tom`s Cove Park Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing