We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Nature Center”

Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour
Attraction details
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well Done Nature Center”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

LIked it a lot, helpful staff and great exhibits. Touched on all relevant natural history topics, flora and fauna.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't take the tour if it's really hot outside”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We took the tour bus for the refuge hoping to see lots of horses. Jodie, our tour guide was full of interesting information about the island. The bus is advertised as being air conditioned. Even with it on full blast, the bus was so hot and stuffy, and it was quite unbearable. We took the 4 pm tour and it was in the high 90's. The a/c couldn't keep up and the bus was filled with people. We only got to see 4 horses-a mare, her newborn foal, and stallion were close to the road and we were able to get many pictures. Another horse, Willy, had an egret and another bird picking bugs off him to keep him more comfortable. Unfortunately, most of the herd were way across the mud flats and you could barely see them. We did see herons, egrets, and a bald eagle. Perhaps if we had taken an early morning tour it may have been more comfortable on the bus. But after spending 2 hours sweltering, all we wanted to do was get into our own car and blast the a/c and get some cold drinks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were not expecting to see so many ponies! We must have lucked out because they were everywhere the day we took the tour. Many came right up to the bus and we snapped over 100 pictures that day.

The tour guide is very interesting and knowledgeable about the island. Do this tour at the beginning of your vacation as it gives you an excellent appreciation for this wildlife refuge.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiomomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see the horses.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Book a day ahead. Great tour. Lots of birds and a wonderful way to see the ponies. Tons of different birds and the tour guide was great!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justmythoughtsonthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tour needs some upgrades”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We took this tour in July of 2012. The tour itself and the Tour Guide, Jodie, were fine. However, the tour advertises an air conditioned bus. With the "air conditioning" at full blast the bus temperature was still 90 degrees. My wife has COPD and I would not have taken this tour has I known the bus was not truly air conditioned. Also, there seems to be a need for a modicum of courtesy or control of others taking the tour. There were too many rude and disrespectful riders that made this tour not as good as it could have been.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmstitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing