We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of the trip!”

Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We specialize in the wild ponies! Ask about our Afternoon Pony Tour, available daily. Family friendly nature tours of Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. Our trip combines sight-seeing and a guided tour together. We search for wild ponies, dolphin, bald eagles, sea turtles, sting rays, all manner of wild fowl, and local creatures. We talk about local history, culture, seafood industry, economy, and modern day life. Our signature “Around the Island Tour” covers over 25 miles of coastline, in 2-2.5 hours, never passing the same spot twice. We specialize in taking small groups, on extended trips, into isolated areas. Most trips take 6 guests max, but we’ve added a 33’, 14 passenger boat to our fleet. We run our 33' boat on our afternoon pony tour, and by request for larger groups. Local family owned and operated business by Capt. Dan, his wife Miss Abby, and his father Capt. Ray.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best part of the trip!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our family of four took a sunset cruise with Captain Dan's father, Captain Ray. Within minutes of being on the boat we saw dolphins jumping in the water. Captain Ray also found eagles and got us so close to a herd of ponies that we could have touched them if we had tried. Very informative and wonderful way to end our island vacation! We will be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rush, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“September 2012 Tour”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took a tour with Captain Dan during a vacation to Chincoteague Island in September 2012. There were 4 people on our tour and there was plenty of room on the boat. The tour took us all the way around the island. We saw a herd of ponies and another including a mare and her new foal. Captain Dan stayed at each location as long as we wished to ensure that we had a great experience viewing the ponies. As an island native he is also very knowledgeable about the history of the ponies and the island. We enjoyed the information and the stories that he shared with us and were sorry to have our trip come to an end. We highly recommend taking the tour with Captain Dan and will certainly take the trip again if we return to the island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“August tour 2012”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

IT was a rainy type day so my partner and I were the only two on the boat. But he still took us out. Very friendly and very knowledgeable. The tour was great as he pointed out all the wildlife and even stopping the boat so you could really absorb the experience. In spots you could actualy imagine what happened there just by his story telling regarding the history of the spot. Well worth the money and we both would reconmmend him,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth the money, and great Tour, Dan very good.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wife and I took an afternoon tour with Captain Dan. He only takes six out at a time so you are not on some crowded boat. Price is very good considering the time and tour. You will go around the Island and see dolphins, birds, and the ponies. He is very people friendly as you would expect and has wealth of knowledge of area being a native. If you do one thing on the island, take this tour. He gets the high ratings for a reason.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went on a recent tour and saw lots of dolphins, beautiful scenery, a bald eagle and even a herd of those famous ponies! Cap't Dan was a very good guide and very knowledgeable about the area. Enjoyed our time on the water very much and would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Chincoteague Island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours also viewed

 

Been to Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing