We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual with great food and prices”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Description: Seafood restaurant featuring a variety of seafood baskets, complete with fries and slaw, steamed crabs and shrimp, kids menu, and outdoor seating. Come in and try our signature dishes and our amazing burgers. There is something for everyone.
Munsonville, NH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual with great food and prices”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stopped for lunch and picked a few items off the 'Starters Menu" and cold beers of course. We split some Buffalo Wings and shared steamed shrimp, steamed oysters, and fries. That's all we could eat anyway. Outside dining was our choice though there's not much of a view. we just enjoyed being outside. Our waiter Johnny was great. When we ordered two more beers, he made the order a 'Bucket of Beer' which we didn't know they sold. Now that's considerate! Everyone was nice and friendly and guests chatted among tables. Oh the oysters? They were local and fresh. You can tell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDH03457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    134
    62
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chincoteague, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Wonderful place to eat after being at the beach. There is both indoor and outdoor seating which is a great add to the island vacation. Amber waited on us she was very help! We enjoyed everything Amber recommended. My son said it was the best burger he ever had, which isnt common for him to say. The funnel cake fries were also great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My wife and I stopped by here for a late lunch. They were still pretty busy for 3pm. Our server (Lauren) was great, drinks were always full and she quickly addressed all of our needs. As far as food, mine was amazing. I got the Shack Burger which is a burger covered in crab dip. It was truly one of the best burgers I have ever had. My wife just had an order of steamed shrimp. She enjoyed them as well, but thought there wasn't enough old bay. To be fair, she could have asked for more!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rly101687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
1 review
“Great seafood and friendly service”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family of 4 stopped here for lunch and all had a different seafood basket. They were all great and very well cooked/fried. We had very friendly service from Jordan. We enjoyed it so much that we went back the next day and had some more. The soft shell crabs were outstanding, as a lot of restaurants put too much breading on them and you can not taste the crab. Really enjoyed the Rockfish basket also. Very reasonable prices and great portions of food. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food is second to none!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My family came to the crab shack today for lunch, we sat on the outside deck area (which is cool and comfortable under the umbrellas) the restaurant itself doesn't look like much (hence the name crab SHACK) but the food is absolutely delicious, the chicken tenders are made with a delicious breading (not the frozen kind) and the burgers are juicy an delicious. Definitely recommend their fried basket platters and their snow crab legs are at a great price as well. Lauren was a very pleasant/entertaining waitress and was a pleasure to talk to. We will definitely be back next year !!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing