We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place for after the beach”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seafood restaurant featuring a variety of seafood baskets, complete with fries and slaw, steamed crabs and shrimp, kids menu, and outdoor seating. Come in and try our signature dishes and our amazing burgers. There is something for everyone.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good place for after the beach”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had the seafood potato skins and they were delicious. The clam chowder was great too except that it had pieces of bacon in it, which I don't eat. I wish they would have disclosed that ahead of time. The waitress was very nice and we sat outside. It was a great place to get lunch after the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    119
    55
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronceverte, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best seafood shack in town”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the steamer platter...which the flounder was too much for me. The screen room eating is unique and was nice! The varied seating options in neat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannie N Kathry... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nothing out of the ordinary”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our meal here was nothing to write home about. Service was good, but the food was just so so. Especially considering the prices. We ate for lunch - and the burger was the best thing ordered. Disappointing when you are near the beach and at a seafood restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank momof7ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I can't say how it was because sadly we left! We waited a half an hour for a table and then when finally sat, we never got any service! There are not a ton of places to eat on the island so when this place opened we were excited to try it. With hungry kids in tow, the additional wait and no acknowledgment from wait staff was unacceptable. Can't comment on the food since we never had the chance to try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food is average and not a good value. The ambience is not as charming as you would expect based on the old photo with this listing, we sat in a screened area next to parking lot. The other outside sitting was on some old tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack07895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing