We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Ribs”

Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Ribs”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The aromas from the wood-fired smoker is the first clue that you will have a good meal. The ribs are always tasty, and several flavors of pulled pork make great sandwiches. A great addition to the summer scene at Chincoteague

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieK937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    236
    99
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It gets 4 stars for the island, but 3 stars overall”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overall, if you're on Chincoteague, you're there for the beach--my experience with Woody's was only OK 'cue for anywhere, but adequate if your hankering for BBQ.

The shack has games for the kids while you're waiting, along with some tables and chairs. There are a few standing barrels for eating on site.

I ordered a slab of ribs and pulled pork, an order of cornbread and baked beans (the two sides with the slab), two more orders of cornbread, and four ears of corn. For the pork I asked for the vinegar-style Carolina sauce. Upon unpacking the order at our beach house, I found the order was wrong: pork, ribs, four ears of corn, four cornbreads (not three), and no beans. I could live with that. But the sauces were switched, so the default sweet sauce was on the pulled pork and the vinegar sauce on the ribs. The ribs were slightly smoky and tender, but the pork was dry, and would have been much better with the vinegar sauce.

Overall, I might order again, but there are better values on the Island. Only if I had a real craving for some BBQ-like food would I probably give it another try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mas08110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, md
Level Contributor
261 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Plenty of Other Options”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Yuk, what a disappointment. We had pulled pork sandwich with jalapenos, BBQ chicken, 1/2 rack of ribs, and chicken tenders. The pork was overcooked and was bland, the chicken was overcooked, the ribs were average, and the sauce was mediocre. The tea was very thin and flavorless. Best part of the meal were the chicken tenders. Also, there was a terrible smell of sewer or septic gas that periodically wafted over the parking lot / eating area. Not worth the 45 minute wait for our food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vulturecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh.....”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

To me the food at Woodys just doesn't live up to all the hype.The atmosphere of the place is a lot of fun but the food just seems overpriced and just blah.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
813 reviews
495 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ Sandwich”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I had the "Woody's Signature" sandwich. It was piled high, topped off with onion rings. It was delicious. I took it to go and did not get any more sauce to take with me. So, to me, it was a tad but dry.

The fries were disappointing. Even though they were freshly made, they were limp and greasy.

All in all, this is delicious BBQ served in a friendly funky atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing