We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Spider's Explorer

Spider's Explorer
Altavista, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Capt. Spider is professional, helpful, prompt, and proactive. Great personality!!! (: He made our special day exactly what we had hoped for! ~Tom & Lisa

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy19842009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We took the sunset cruise and it was perfect. We saw ponies, osprey, oyster beds, and an eagle. The tour includes the entire island and Spider is very knowledgeable about the island, its wildlife and history. Definitely recommend this tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely trip around the Island”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We decided to do this with very little notice and were soooo glad that he was able to accomodate us. We had a terrific time. He was very knowledgeable and timed everything perfectly so that we ended up at the sunset and dolphins surfacing everywhere. Just a much needed ending to our awesome vacation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Candi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Captain Spider gives a great tour”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Spider boat tour (we took the 1:30 to 3:30 tour of the waterways around the island) was the right balance of information, exploration, and quiet time. Spider gave us some history of the island, supplementing visual ques with a photo album. He brought us as close as possible (avoiding shallows) to the south herd of ponies (which can be seen grazing on Assateague beach) and brought us within binocular distance of viewing a bald eagle guarding its nest. When one of his customers needed to use a rest room, he docked the boat by a park for a few moments to accommodate the customer. He respected all questions, positioned the boat for better viewing in response to our requests, and generally made the tour a very good experience. Thanks Captain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip around the Island!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful trip around the island, Spide knew the ins and outs of the island. Took us in areas that no other cruises go! Our trip supposed to be 2 hours long and it ended up being 2 hours and 45 minutes! Our guide kept us well entertained and pointed out lots of interesting facts! Would go again in a heart beat!!! Very roomy pontoon boat!

Helpful?
1 Thank JaciNJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spider's Explorer also viewed

 

Been to Spider's Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing