We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Melts Fast and Well Worth the Stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mister Whippy

Mister Whippy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 97% Fat Free Soft Serve Ice Cream, Sorbet, Milk Shakes, Sundaes, Cyclones, Specialty Sundaes, Snowballs, and much more. Check out our gift shop for your favorite Mister Whippy souvenir, or try our drive thru for speedy service!! Open daily, Hours vary.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Melts Fast and Well Worth the Stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped in 3 different times while on vacation. Fast nice service. The soft serve and sundaes where both great. The kids size is plenty big for anyone. If you're on the island you have to stop by at least once while in town. Bring cash for payment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtrawinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    168
    70
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lighter snack 97% fat free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This ice cream is not heavy. It is soft ice cream and comes in chocolate, vanilla, or twist. We enjoy getting the waffle cone and asking for their delicious peanut butter syrup inside the cone. Trust us, it's good that way with chocolate ice cream. You can also ask for a kids size which is more manageable for little ones. They have a drive through, which is great when you don't feel like standing in line. They also recently created more parking. The ice cream itself is good, but I normally need to add toppings & syrups to it. A little more natural vanilla and chocolate flavor would go a long way. Just my personal taste preference. It is a nice change from the other ice cream shop down the street, which is a heavier, richer ice cream. Service was good. They do not take credit, so make sure you have cash! Prices are afforadble and you get a lot for your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, PA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Milkshakes On The Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

There's really not a whole lot you can say about Mr. Whippy's.....in our opinion, it's the best. We hit there every day on our recent week's visit and we have hit there every day when we vacation at Chincoteague.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randolph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good soft serve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the ice cream here. If you're looking for tasty soft serve, it's the place to be! I have only one warning for you. Make sure you have lots of room in your stomach if you order a large. It's huge!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A must stop while on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Always stop by when returning from the beach. It's quite tasty after a long day of swimming and sunning. Not really sure what's in it; but it hits the spot, the price is great, and we love the drive thru!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catd411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mister Whippy also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mister Whippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing