We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Money”

Daisey's Island Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: On our nature cruises you will experience Assateague Island in a way that is simply not possible from land. Let us show you the hidden beauty and wildlife of Assateague Island. At Daisey's Island Cruises our main goal is for you to have an enjoyable and memorable experience. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We hope that you will take time to read our customer reviews and explore our web site. You will see why cruising with Daisey's Island Cruises is the right choice! Your Captain will fill you in on all the local knowledge as you explore the remote backbays and expansive coastline of Assateague Island. We cruise all the best areas of Assateague Island for pony viewing. It is also common to see dolphins, bald eagles, and an array of other wildlife on our sightseeing boat tours.Many of our customers tell us that our cruise was the highlight of their Chincoteague vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The sunset cruise is great! Captain Bob made sure we saw birds, dolphins, and ponies!
I particularly wanted to see birds ad was not disappointed.
Very comfortable boat and nice people. Very knowledgeable guide.
Do take several layers of jackets because it really gets cold when the sun goes down.
Worth every penny!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJohnson143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    57
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great way to see the islands!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our sunset tour with Captain Nate was just great.

The good experience started with Roxanne, who handled the reservation. When she found out we have two small kids, she put us on a boat with that holds about 20 people (and so had room to move around a little) and had a bathroom, which was much appreciated.

Captain Nate has a great mix of deep knowledge of the island and its wildlife and skill at connecting with people. He was able to share lots of interesting stories and make everyone feel at ease without ever being overbearing. In terms of wildlife, we didn't see any dolphins, but we saw a number of bald eagles (both nesting and in flight). And when the ponies were not quick to show themselves, Captain Nate put in a phone call, found out that they were about 5 miles up the island, and high-tailed it up there, giving us a superb viewing opportunity of maybe a dozen ponies.

From there, it was a lovely cruise back to the dock as the sun went down, offering gorgeous twilight views of both Assateague and Chincoteague. One of the highlights of our trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Daisey's Nature Cruise in Chincoteague!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our trip on Daisey's Nature Cruise was the highlight of our visit to Chincoteague Island this week. Capt. Bill was a wonderful guide, he knows so much about the island, he's lived there all his life and he shared a great deal of history. We took a morning trip, the boat is very comfortable. Don't forget your camera! We saw dolphins, an eagle and the ponies. My nieces and nephew loved the trip. I highly recommend Daisey's and I hope to make the trip again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband, granddaughter and I were fortunate enough to be a part of Captain Carlton's tour yesterday. There was only one other couple on the boat so we had plenty of time for individual questions. Since Captain Carlton was raised on Chincoteague, his personal experiences added so very much to an already amazing tour. We were able to see a bald eagle, dolphins, and several of the wild horses. When it was time to return to the dock, we encountered a large number of dolphins and Captain Carlton extended our two hour tour by at least 20 minutes so we could watch them. Some family members from Connecticut took the tour earlier in the summer and recommended it to us. We thoroughly enjoyed it as well - we had a beautiful day, a wonderful, knowledgeable captain, and a great experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular evening with the dolphins”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A spectacular and informative evening was spent with Captain Carlton. I have been on multiple island cruises over the years, but this was one of the best. The experience of being surrounded by pods of dolphins, a herd of ponies while experiencing a misty sunset was grand. One of the best parts of the evening was the information shared by Captain Carlton explaining the oyster industry, Pony Penning history, island lore and legend and Assateague Island history. Not only was the cruise informative and beautiful but lengthy. I really got my moneys worth. I left the boat feeling so very happy and more knowledgeable about this beautiful island .Thank you Captain Carlton for such a wonderful experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciabeitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daisey's Island Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Daisey's Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing