We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different but won't be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon Village

Saigon Village
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something different but won't be back”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our first night here was a Saturday and we chose to eat here. We were seated fairly quickly but waited for menus, waited for drinks, waited for our order to be taken and you see where this is going. Service was so slow and no one knew what food was going where.
The food was pretty good. I had a noodle soup with chicken and shrimp it had flavor and there was a lot. My husband ordered a stir fry that was heavy on vegetables low on noodles. We also had fresh spring rolls, which were great.
Maybe we caught this place on a bad night but not going back to find out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cawwee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    80
    32
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was closed on mon and tues, but we checked every day and finally had dinner there on Wed, our last night. The shrimp spring rolls were delicious as were our entrees, panang, fried rice, and a sate stir fry. The food came very fast, no wait for a table, there is an area to eat outside, or u can get it to go and eat in the nice waterside park.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seethesightsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This restaurant is very crowded and service is very slow. We saw many frustrated folks. However, if you are patient it is well worth the wait. The food is very good. A nice little surprise on Chincoteague Island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrsyshoregrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was so surprised to find a Vietnamese restaurant on Chincoteague Island! Service was spotty & the 2 waitresses were quite stressed & when stressed, had a hard time being kind to the customers. But when they had a chance to breathe, they were both very sweet. Midget wonton soup was the best I've had in years! Adored the spring rolls - incredibly fresh ingredients. My husband's pan fry noodles were awesome & perfectly spicy. But my Saigon seafood noodle soup had a funny taste & I didn't enjoy it as much. I'd certainly go back, given the chance but order something different. I just feel bad for those waitresses when it gets really busy (and it's a popular place, so it's going to be busy!) so please be nice to them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So nice we ate there twice”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Actually, we ate there four times, and eating here is one thing we look forward to when going to Chincoteague. The staff is nice and the place is always busy with visitors and locals. I've not had a bad dish here yet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Village also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Saigon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing