We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy but thats not the only reason you go there”
Review of Saigon Village

Saigon Village
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Healthy but thats not the only reason you go there”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fresh, healthy wonderful dishes. Lots of crunchy vegi's. Lots of choices. You can add meat or shrimp to every meal or not. The portions are quite large. You either get white rice or 2 different types of noodles with your entree. They ask you to select the degree of hotness from 1-10 which I think is a very wide range and should appeal to everyone.The meal comes quickly. They come around just often enough that you can get anything you need but they arent bothering you. Oh and there are outside tables which is wonderful! The only negative thing I can say is that I wish they had brown rice as an option for your meal. That would not keep me from going back. Oh and they serve a beer made by Dogfish that is in a large wine bottle size. I think it sez its vietnamese, not sure about that, they cant have too many choices by Dogfish in a bottle that size. Anyhow, its wonderful. Not like any domestic beer I've ever had. Its a dinner beer not for drinking bottle after bottle after bottle. GIve it a try. Very, very reasonable priced meals. Very.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTraveledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    90
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
key west, fl
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you're going for the atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recommend eating outside. Inside is a bit stark. That said, the food was great. The service was great. The price was great. Who needs ambiance when you are hungry and want a really good meal.

As the name applies - Vietnamese food. If you'd like a large portion of very good food then Saigon Village is the ticket. We stopped in based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed.

We saw lots of locals stopping in to eat and were pleased that it brought us to the downtown area. I think this part of town is often missed by us tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank collye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious little secret”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have been going to Chincoteague for many years now, but was always skeptical of trying the food at Saigon Village. The building is very small and looks a bit older. However, the food is amazing and some of the best Asian food I have ever had! It is very fresh and has delicious flavor. We went at dinnertime and it was very busy. The leftovers were delicious the next day too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lots of food choices.
It was more over priced than what we are used to back home.
Food and lemonade was good.
We had spring rolls and chicken fried rice minus soy sauce just like we have at home.
There were only two workers and they seemed stressed sometimes cause all tables were full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robynvitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Chincoteague”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We go to Saigon Village 2-3 times during our vacation. We enjoy all the items on the menu, especially the spring rolls, curry and the soup. It can get very, very busy in the evenings and the restaurant is fairly small, so plan accordingly. We did go for lunch one day on our most recent visit and it was practically empty and much more enjoyable. The lunch combination plates had less food, which is better for my appetite.

The food is made to order and very fresh. You can ask for whatever level of spiciness you want. They also offer take out, which can make things seem busier in the kitchen if you are dining in. We have never been disappointed in the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Village also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Saigon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing