We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see and do!”

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncrowded wildlife refuge managed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So much to see and do!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We rented bikes right outside the refuge and loved riding the trails. The beach trail is about 6 miles one way, but try the wildlife loop if you have kids. You will see deer and hopefully some wild ponies, which we certainly did. Beautiful marshes, bays, islands, lighthouse, and a wonderful clean beach with facilities and great parking. The highlight and gem of Chincoteague. No fee to ride the bikes, but car access will cost you $15 for a week.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ocshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,762
    334
    67
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We visited here with our four year old and 9 months old. We were going to visit for more than one day, so we opted to buy the week pass for $15. Not only were the visitor centers very cool with friendly staff, but all the paths were paved and flat, perfect for strollers.

Be sure to bring lots of bug spray, because they started swarming the second we stepped out of the car. I only got two bug bites the whole time, and the kids didn't get any.

We caught glimpses of the ponies, and the views were lovely. We also stumbled upon a few snakes, which I was not very happy about. But my husband and daughter thought it was awesome.

Lots of things to see and do!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the visit to the refuge, light house, and
A wonderful beach with clean restrooms. What could be better!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The beach was very nice and the Visitor Center had lot's of information about the park.
We rode bikes through the park. We saw numerous animals and birds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TR3A61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not just beach”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the southern end of Assateague Island which of course is gorgeous beach, but it is also a great place for easy walks through the marsh and woodland. There is something for any weather. You WILL want to use bug repellant. And yes, you will see the horses.

There is no food available to purchase, so bring lunch. The daily admission allows you to come and go, so if you get hungry you just have to drive a couple of miles to get a meal or munchies.

I was pleased to discover that if you are 62 or older you can buy a senior lifetime pass for $10 that is good for any national park or wildlife refuge in the US. No kidding. Free admission for you and 3 others in your party for the rest of your life at any park. You have to buy it from a ranger at the visitor center, can't do it online.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail_and_Norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing