We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beachfront refuge”

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncrowded wildlife refuge managed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely beachfront refuge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Bateman visitor center is worth the trip! We have enjoyed the exhibits many times and learned a lot about conservation, the history of the refuge, and what birds and bugs we find in the area. Always bike the refuge loop...well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simply S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,684
    319
    61
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great time with our grandchildren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful place for children to explore and learn. We loved the life sized Eagle nest and eagle cam. Park in the lot and bike around the area exploring the lighthouse and various trails. Its our favorite place to go with family! Trails are wide and nice enough for sm children on training wheels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ephratamyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horses in the wetlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's always a thrill to see the horses happily munching away in their natural wetlands home.
If you want to see them in this environment, don't go during 'pony penning' week. You will certainly see lots of horses then but they will be in a coral.
The park is also home to lots of birds of all kinds.
The beaches are superb and the biking trails through the park are always flat. It's the shore.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been going to Chincoteague for 40 years. I take my grandkids there now. We love it. Wild ponies are everywhere. You can go bike riding, walking. Go to the visitor's center and the lighthouse. The beach is wonderful. There are trails and bike paths. You will see all kinds of wildlife.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy, MD
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love Chincoteague. We travel all over the world but Chincoteague is our go to place to relax. Crossing the bridge and taking in the smell of the salt marsh is the first indication that we are there! We love to go to the wildlife loop and see all the surprises. Of course, sometimes the surprise is "nothing" but that is not the norm. We go at all times of the year and there is almost always something to see. A true treasure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilex21771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing