We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Place to Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncrowded wildlife refuge managed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been going to Chincoteague for 40 years. I take my grandkids there now. We love it. Wild ponies are everywhere. You can go bike riding, walking. Go to the visitor's center and the lighthouse. The beach is wonderful. There are trails and bike paths. You will see all kinds of wildlife.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,624
    304
    59
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Airy, MD
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love Chincoteague. We travel all over the world but Chincoteague is our go to place to relax. Crossing the bridge and taking in the smell of the salt marsh is the first indication that we are there! We love to go to the wildlife loop and see all the surprises. Of course, sometimes the surprise is "nothing" but that is not the norm. We go at all times of the year and there is almost always something to see. A true treasure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilex21771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful white beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a beautiful beach - one of the prettiest and cleanest I've ever been on. Early October was a great place to fly a kite as the beach was very long with lots of space. Additionally, the drive to the beach is very scenic. Great place to go birdwatching.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beauty everywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The trails are fairly easy (even for a senior) to walk or bike, there are dedicated bike lanes, the visitor centers are staffed with wonderful folks who are helpful and cheerful and want you to have a good visit. The sunset my first night was spectacular. It was fun sitting on the visitor center porch chatting with the other hopeful photographers, waiting for the sun to set. There are all sorts of birds everywhere, there's a life guard beach as well as a surf fishing beach, and just the very minimal rules. While I was waiting for dawn on the beach, I watched a surf fisherman and the flock of gulls and other seabirds trying to help him fish. If relaxation is what you're after, this is a great place to find it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't tell everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful spot and a peaceful location for a gentle relaxed day. You'll have to like walking - a circumnavigation would take a good couple of hours. Take water and insect repellent and you will be rewarded with squirrels, herons, turtles, all sorts of birds and especially eagles which were great (we don't get a right lot of them in Wales)! Oh yes horses as well but I'm not a fan :o)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing