We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horses”

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncrowded wildlife refuge managed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Dover, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horses”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We saw one..lol..it was beautiful...would love to go back and hopefully see more...wonderful beach...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,820
    341
    67
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, DE USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Where else can you go and see wild horses. Even during the winter if you are patient and have good eyes you may spot a pony. We were fortunate enough to see 1 pony. It is unusual to only see 1 as they are usually in groups but we were thankful to see at least 1. A lot of damage has been done in the woods and a lot of trees seem to be down due to Hurricane Sandy. Yet, the waterways are still full of herons and egrets which are beautiful to photograph. This is a great place to enjoy whether you do it by car or by bike or hiking. I hope you get the chance to see it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyS1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Quiet, peaceful and beautiful! We go there every chance we get. Wildlife viewing is wonderful and the beach is never crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice park - similar to Assateague Island”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We live an hour north of the Chincoteague area and come down to see how it compared to the northern MD side of the island (Assateague Island). They're both about the same so since we are locals on Assateague Island we didn't spend a lot of time here but thought it was nice, clean and it's always fun to see the wild horses and other wildlife.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasidesewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hit hard by Sandy, but still wonderful”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amazed at the registration caused by Sandy, but saw many signs that Mother Nature will be OK. The eagles nesting area was mostly destroyed, but we saw them rebuilding the nest in one of the remaking trees left in the stand. The beach had been breached, yet again we saw evidence that it was not too severe and that the beach would soon heal itself. Yes the road to the beach was damaged, but I feel sure that the service will soon have that repaired, as well. So don't miss out on a wonderful place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing