We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knights Inn Chilhowie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilhowie
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“what a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

admittedly, i checked in after 3 in the morning but the desk person was super rude, the room was the pits, uncomfortable bed, antiquidated bath, lukewarm water in the shower... it is places like this that i travel with my own linens... but i was dead tired so got a few z's

Room Tip: skip this pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
6
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairdale, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

To start things off the staff there are very rude! The room my wife and i stayed in was very outdated, the walls had a few stains on them the refridgerator smelled terrible(to bad to use)
the bathroom was in very poor shape the walls were crackin from water damage and the toilet wouldnt flush unless you held the lever down, along with a cold shower!!!! The wifi connection offered only works if you stand next to the main office! The pool was drained with a some nice green moldy lookin stuff around it and cracks in the liner...this place has not been taking care of in anyway that we could see! Ill never stay there again and wouldnt advise anyone else to either...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guthrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chilhowie hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

There are absolutely no redeeming qualities about this hotel. The rooms are disgusting. They smell, are moldy, dated, stained linens, stained walls, etc. The walls are so thin that whenever trucks go by on nearby Route 81 (which is every 2 seconds) it sounds like they are coming through the front door. If my wife wasn't feeling sick, we would have checked immediately. In fact, I checked nearby hotels, but none had vacancy. As if the room wasn't bad enough, the lobby smells and the pool is drained. Overall impression: yuck.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were one of only two people in the whole place. The room smelled musty and the clerk was rude. Only great thing about it was the awesome pizza place attached to the inn!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stay in the hotel for the weekend of the Bristol spring race. The beds were made fresh daily, towels were clean and the room was clean. It is a very old hotel that backs to the mountain side. It is in disrepair but they keep it clean the best they can. If you want a cheap place and a clean room, this fits the bill. If you are looking for a 3 star and up hotel, keep going. I have no problems going back to this hotel in the fall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I read the reviews and looked at the pictures posted by others and almost didn't stop but It was the only place for 100 miles that took my rewards pnts. I was greeted by a very nice gentleman who showed me room 101 which wasn't what I expected going by the Previous guests pics and reviews. The room was clean, the towels were a bit thin but stain free, the carpet looked pretty new and the room had no bad smell. There was a hole in the bathroom wall the size of a quarter that bothered me and the hot water turned to Luke warm after 2 minutes but from what I understand they only charge $35 a night so you really can't expect much. The pool was still Empty and breakfast consisted of coffee. Overall if you are just staying one night it isn't too bad. If you travel for work as I do you are used to bidding on rooms and paying half of retail but that is not an option anywhere near this area. Last but not least the Pizza place on site was GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

There weren't too many options in this town, but this clearly was the wrong one. It was cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for. Beds were hard and uncomfortable, pool was empty and filled with leaves and the whole place had a moldy smell. This is the type of place that was a crap hole in the late 80's, and has since deteriorated into what it is today.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschultz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilhowie
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
11.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
15.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Glade Spring
Econo Lodge Glade Spring
#2 of 2 in Glade Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Chilhowie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Chilhowie

Property: Knights Inn Chilhowie
Address: 108 River Rd, I-81and Exit 35-River Road, Chilhowie, VA 24319-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chilhowie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilhowie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Chilhowie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Chilhowie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing