We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We come to this area every few months to visit an ill relative and we always stay here. Because this is long drive for us and is tough visit overall for my son, we especially appreciate the pool, hot tub and free breakfast. There is a closer Country Inn & Suites but we always choose this one because of the pool. It is also nice after a long, cold drive in some bad weather conditions, to walk in to an inviting entry room with a cozy fireplace and free cookies and coffee. The staff always make us feel welcome. Rooms are cozy and clean. The bed was a little hard for my taste but overall pretty comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Become a club Carlton member to receive the email specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebrick_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear bluebrick_chick,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are sorry for the circumstances that bring you to Chester. We are glad that we can accommodate you though. Thank you for your comments and we will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    97
    41
    31
    16
See reviews for
195
59
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Double reviews are a little repetitive, so I'll make this one short and sweet- we came back, we LOVED it, we will be back again. The Christmas decorations were so pretty. The staff is always amazing- I had the pleasure of being helped by Amanda and Mercedes this time around and both ladies, who it seems have been with the hotel for a while (which is a good sign) are so helpful and caring and knowledgable about the surrounding area. We have been recommending this hotel to all of our friends who travel north/south on I-95. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Entrance is hard to find so you have to slow down and look for it after getting off the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscole473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had family visit last week. Mercedes helped make there stay comfortable, by assuring room was in good shape. The rooms were clean and neat. There is breakfast in the mornings. Breakfast has eggs, oatmeal, orange juice, lemonade juice, apple juice, sausage, waffles, potatoes, muffins, coffee, bagels, and more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpeters919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear tpeters919,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad we could accommodate you! Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Room and public areas were always very clean. Pool was wonderful. Good size pool, Heated and open late which was a real plus.
Would go here again if in the area. Staff was helpful and friendly.
You have to watch for the entrance sign so you don't pass up the driveway. This made for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sylvia892,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. Thank you for all of your great comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We are so glad we could accommodate your long weekend. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second time I stayed here this year. Four days in April, and ten days this time. First trip was very impressive and clean. Place is fairly clean, except for at the entrance and the carpets in the dining area. You have to go through a smoker's haven to get inside. You can't sit outside if you don't smoke, as both sides with chairs were set up with smokers in mind. No consideration at all for the people that do not smoke nor want to be around it.Very unappealing also, are the hundreds of cigarette butts throughout their landscaping even though they put receptables for the grossly discourteous smokers.

Food for breakfast is passable, but my wife and I noticed that the nice plates, real silverware, real glasses, and regular coffee cups we have been accustomed to at Carlson Inns were non existent for most of our stay. I found out that it looks like they use the styrofoam plates, plastic forks, plastic disposable cups, and regular salt and pepper shakers when they are not expecting an inspection from the Carlson Quality control folks. I found out they were expecdting an inspecttion and the real stuff showed up for a few days, then back to normal with the lesser desired items.

The other issue was the parking situation as their parking lot is full of very large CSX railroad vehicles. The day we arrived, just one of the CSX vehicles took up nine parking spaces. This morning there were at least close to ten of the railroad vehicles parked in the lot. If you come back in the evening it becomes very hard to even find a parking space in their lot.

The location suited our needs these two trips, and even though it looks like quality has declined a bit, we would probably use this facility again when we need to stay in this area..

Room Tip: Third floor is usually a little quieter, but you have to pay an extra $5.00 per night for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IraNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for providing us with this review. We take guest feedback very seriously. We have contacted this guest regarding this matter to try to rectify this matter. We are always looking for better ideas to make our breakfast service better however, at this time our breakfast service is up to the Country Inn Standard. We appreciate guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The place is pretty nice as far as room space and comfortable bed. Front desk staff are very polite and helpful. The breakfast leaves much to be desired, as in somewhere else for breakfast. Do not park your car near grass on cutting day because it will be all over your vehicle. I had hair on shower wall for two days! It looked like an ape was taking a shower in it. No it was not mine. Tried to talk to housekeeping but they did not understand English.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank v3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We weren't sure we would be staying in Chester, but we were pretty sure. I checked the on line reviews and the rates with the 800 # and we liked what we saw. Our trip ended up putting us in Chester around check in time, so we decided to stop. We loved walking into this beautiful entryway, the clerk was very helpful, but then we found out the rate quoted on the internet was less than what she quoted us on site. We were told that the quoted rate thru the 800# was not always the same as the rate directly at the hotel. This didn't settle well with us, but we decided to stay anyways.
The room was very clean, the beds, pillows and chairs were super comfy. And the breakfast was perfect. If it wasn't for the rate difference, this would be a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Walker1021,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We apologize about your concern about the rate you received. We would like to tell you that rates, room types, and availability change all the time. The best way to receive the best rate is to either book your rate online, or directly with the hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you for telling us about your room and breakfast. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Chester

Property: Country Inn & Suites Chester
Address: 2406 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23831-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chester, VA! This hotel suits business and leisure travelers alike with a prime location between I-95, Jefferson Davis Highway and West Hundred Road. Make your way to the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, and then check emails with free high-speed Internet access. Families love the heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub for afternoon entertainment, and corporate travelers appreciate having an on-site business center. Ready to get out and explore all that the Richmond area has to offer? See the region's natural beauty at Dutch Gap Conservation Area or get a taste of the fascinating local history at Henricus Historical Park, Castlewood Plantation House and Fort Lee. 100% Non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Chester
Country Inn & Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing