We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn & Suites Chester VA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites Chester VA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We weren't sure we would be staying in Chester, but we were pretty sure. I checked the on line reviews and the rates with the 800 # and we liked what we saw. Our trip ended up putting us in Chester around check in time, so we decided to stop. We loved walking into this beautiful entryway, the clerk was very helpful, but then we found out the rate quoted on the internet was less than what she quoted us on site. We were told that the quoted rate thru the 800# was not always the same as the rate directly at the hotel. This didn't settle well with us, but we decided to stay anyways.
The room was very clean, the beds, pillows and chairs were super comfy. And the breakfast was perfect. If it wasn't for the rate difference, this would be a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Walker1021,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We apologize about your concern about the rate you received. We would like to tell you that rates, room types, and availability change all the time. The best way to receive the best rate is to either book your rate online, or directly with the hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you for telling us about your room and breakfast. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    96
    40
    31
    16
See reviews for
195
57
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Best drop-in hotel we found on way south from RI. Two kids under 5 had enough and the pool was cool, clean and just enough fun for the kids to settle for the night. 1bd Suite Room was very clean and pull out sofabed was perfect for my 4yr old. there was even enough room to set up our Pack n' Play for the 19mth old! Breakfast was good and hot. Yogurt and fruit options were great for my Egg allergy kid too! Not every place we stoped at had that opption! Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Becka H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I don't usually write reviews and we are a Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn family but this stay at Country Inns changed our minds. We had a great stay. All of the staff was very friendly, especially the girl who was working in the morning. I can't remember her name, I think she had glasses, but she knew EVERYTHING there was to know about Richmond and the surrounding area and gave us so many options of things to do that it was hard to choose. The room was clean- nothing to complain about.The pool was spotless every day and towels always available. The only issue I have is that the breakfast was a little limited. We stayed a couple of days and they served the same eggs.It would have been nice to have something a little different, maybe poached or boiled eggs, or some bacon would have been great, but it won't stop us from coming back. We can't wait to try another Country Inn.

Room Tip: Just a hint- the doors here close a little loud so that's to be expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscole473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything was extremely clean, staff was very friendly. Good location for eating and shopping. Close to a couple of historical sites. Breakfast was not bad, everything that was suppose to be hot was hot, everything that was suppose to be cold was cold. Same ol' thing every morning though.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor. My 3rd day there someone checked into the room above mine and spent hours runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Sherry W,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for telling us about your thoughts about the breakfast. We appreciate all feedback regarding our breakfast. We are always looking for better ways to make this service better. Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The young lady at the front desk, Victoria, is by far the best representative for any hotel i've ever stayed at. She was full of pizazz, very kind, and excellent timely manner of checking in.
also, the rooms are immaculate, large clean, the beds and bedding are very relaxing and offer an wonderful nights sleep.
I still have 2 days left on my stay here and can bet that the service will not change. I dont usually write reviews but it has been too good to be true.
i will definetly stay here in a few weeks when i visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Adam R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for your comments about our employee Victoria. We will make sure that we pass that on to her. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The staff was friendly, the premises were well-kept, and the room was spacious and well-appointed. Overall a good impression for a chain we'd never used before.

My only complaint was our shower. The drain stopper didn't work properly (so the tub started filling up) and the shower rod wasn't level, so the curtain kept sliding toward the middle, allowing water to splash outside the tub.

We only stayed one night, so we didn't know about the shower problems until it was too late. We did notify the front desk person when we checked out.

The hot breakfast was OK - waffles, and eggs, potatoes, etc. for breakfast burritos along with the standard continental fare. My partner said the eggs weren't very good, but It was enough to get use started on our day's journey.

Room Tip: Seems to attract lots of families. You might want rooms toward the end of a hallway, and on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear BillyB32,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all guest comments and concerns. We are so very sorry for any inconvenience that the shower caused you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests tot he hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 5-7 years as a "lay-over" on our way down to Emerald Isle, NC for our vacation. We have always been happy with everything about it. We come with a large "family" group and when we arrive, the kids enjoy swimming in the pool. Then we enjoy having our dinner at Cracker Barrel, which is located right behind the hotel. The rooms are always clean and the breakfast is always wonderful; and it's free which makes it even better!
We will be back next year for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngrinthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ngrinthal,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We appreciate your comments. We are thankful for your loyalty to our hotel. We hope you stay with us for many more years to come. Thank you for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They will be happy to hear good comments about their service.

Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Chester

Property: Country Inn & Suites Chester
Address: 2406 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23831-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chester, VA! This hotel suits business and leisure travelers alike with a prime location between I-95, Jefferson Davis Highway and West Hundred Road. Make your way to the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, and then check emails with free high-speed Internet access. Families love the heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub for afternoon entertainment, and corporate travelers appreciate having an on-site business center. Ready to get out and explore all that the Richmond area has to offer? See the region's natural beauty at Dutch Gap Conservation Area or get a taste of the fascinating local history at Henricus Historical Park, Castlewood Plantation House and Fort Lee. 100% Non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Chester
Country Inn & Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing