We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and friendly home atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisiana
Level Contributor
267 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly home atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I visited three nights during a lull between two snow storms. The desk attendant was very attentive and helpful, suggesting i park where the lot would not be icy in the morning. Breakfast had healthy choices and a delicous variety of traditional foods.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    87
    44
    21
    21
See reviews for
128
49
11
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
159 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The location of the property is South Richmond off of I-95 at the Chester/Hopewell exit. Upon arrival to the hotel I was greeted by the front desk agent sitting on a barstool type chair, reading a paperback novel. While she was very friendly and helpful this was not the image I expect upon arriving to any hotel with an affiliation of Hilton Hotels.

My initial room key did not work, twice and I subsequently had to request a new room even before accessing my original room. The front desk agent claimed there was nothing wrong with the key and then instructed me on the use of the key card system.

The internet service was poor and practically not usable during my entire stay. It precluded me from having my intended meetings at the hotel and presented an ongoing problem throughout my three night stay. It is possible the volume on the internet was so great it impacted my usage, however, there was not a point during my stay where the service improved, no matter the time of day.

I will say after checking out I contacted Hilton Customer Service and did receive a response from one of the management personnel at the hotel with a proposed resolution, however, it doesn't make up for the inconvenience of the most important, internet accessibility.

I think the management is doing the best they can with what they have to work with. Ownership needs to infuse some capital to upgrade certain aspects of the facility.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Traveling to South Carolina we decided to stop over at this hotel. We had the larger 2 bedroom suite. It was excellent. A lot of space and we had a good night rest. We used the pool, which is also very nice. The people are very helpful and kind.
I wish their breakfast was a little better. Their eggs are fake, coffee is so so. It's free, so I guess people will not complain. I will not either. I am again planning a trip and already made my reservation for the same suite. I will have breakfast somewhere else.
It is nice and quite. I like it. My compliments to their staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gompy_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, KS
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here for over three weeks and in general was satisfied except for the maintenance of the room. I changed rooms twice due to maintenance issues. The issues were fixed by the staff after a few days.
Positives:
- Good location close to I-95 yet quiet.
- Dinners served in the evening-not delicious, but for a tired businessman, it's great on some nights.
- Housekeeping. Nice attention to detail.
- Full size fridge and freezer with ice-maker.
- Comfy beds with 8 pillows of different softness.
Negatives:
- Air Conditioners take forever to cool the room (on a 90 degree day, it didn't cool off until after 8pm with the air on Max).
- Dish disposals in all three rooms were siezed-up. I was able to free one with a knife.
- Stove Burners. One burner would not seat in the socket.
- Diswasher. One Dishwasher would not fill with water.
- Flatscreen TVs, but only analog signal.
- No Wifi in Rooms (available in Lobby) although the LAN in room works well.
- No overhang roof at the entrance (Had to unload luggage in a downpour)
- Clock radios can only be re-set by hotel maintenance.

Room Tip: Test everything in the room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tguggisber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I travel to this area quite often for business and usually stay at the Hampton Inn across the street. I decided to treat myself and try the Homewood Suites this time. As soon as I checked in and went to my room, I thought it was pretty nice. I was a bit surprised that the televisions are quite old, but happy that they had movie selections (the Hampton Inn does not). I was disappointed that there was no bathtub in my room, only a stand-up shower. I work long hours here and like to take a hot bath after a long workday. The thing that really floored me though was that there is NO wireless internet! I was really shocked honestly. Every hotel should have wireless these days. Their own website says that this hotel has wireless! So, it was false advertising! I thought maybe I had misread, when I booked this hotel from home so I logged onto their website (through the hard wire connection) and read it again - the website says they DO have wireless! I called the front desk and was informed that this hotel does not have wireless. Even the Hampton Inn across the street, which I pay about $40 less per night has wireless. I think I'll go back to the Hampton Inn on my next trip back to Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny_Dos_Santos, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We here at the Homewood Suites Chester strive for excellence and want to make sure that every guest has a satisfying and enjoyable stay.

Wireless internet is provided in all major public areas (lobby, meetings, etc) but as of now all our rooms are wired. In 2011 we will be bringing a major change; wireless will be installed throughout the hotel and we will be getting upgraded TVs as well. I apologize for any inconveniences that this may have brought upon you and would like to extend my service to making sure we make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

I traveled with two other ladies with four additional colleagues from other states. All complained each of the four days about little or no airconditioning with two people making three room moves to no avail. Would never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chardage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBeard, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
We here at Homewood Suites Chester are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities you deserve. As the outside temperatures continue to rise the some of our AC units were failing or not cooling enough. We have since repaired the broken units and assure you that the rooms are at a comfortable temperature now. We try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I used to frequent this hotel regularly 3 years ago. At that time the rooms were beginning to get worn. Broken arms on chairs, Linens not the best. Flash forward to my 3 day stay. The carpet was brand new, along with beautiful sheets, fluffy pillows an new bedcovers and towels. What a pleasant surprise. I used to know the desk clerks by name, but the one that welcomed me the first day I didn't. It was so nice to see one of the staff that I was used to when I checked out this morning. It must be a good place if they can keep their staff for 3 years. My only negative comment is that it is time that they put money into updating their work out equipment. That would be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton
Address: 12810 Old Stage RD, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Service and Home Comforts at our Hotel in Chester, VA Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Richmond-Chester hotel. Our all-suite hotel, located at Exit 61A off I-95 in Chester, Virginia, offers easy access to Richmond International Airport. Our hotel in Chester, VA is near popular attractions including Kings Dominion, Pamplin Historical Park, Richmond International Raceway and Pocahontas State Park. Make yourself at home in a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite featuring a range of thoughtful amenities to help you feel at home. Prepare a home cooked meal, just the way you like it, in a fully equipped kitchen complete with convenient utensils. Relax in the separate living area, and stay entertained with a flat-screen TV and complimentary internet access. Start your day with a complimentary full hot breakfast before heading out for business or recreation. Stay active during your stay in the fully equipped fitness center, basketball court or indoor swimming pool. Hold meetings with colleagues in our versatile meeting rooms, and stay in touch with work in the business center featuring modern business amenities. Our Suites Enjoy the comforts of home at the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Richmond-Chester hotel. Unwind in a studio, one- or two-bedroom suite with room for entertaining, working or simple relaxation. Prepare a meal for family or friends in the fully equipped kitchen featuring full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and thoughtful utensils. Unwind with a movie on a flat-screen TV in the separate living or sleeping areas, and keep in touch with family and colleagues with complimentary internet access. Enjoy a restful sleep on a king-sized bed after a day of business or sightseeing. We'll even do the grocery shopping for you to make sure you enjoy the most of your time at our hotel in Chester, VA. Our Suites Guest Perks At your Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel, you'll enjoy a range of inclusive perks to help you feel right at home. Indulge in a hot full breakfast each morning. We offer a complimentary grocery shopping service-and if you forget something, there's a 24-hour onsite convenience store. Other benefits include newspaper delivery every weekday and complimentary internet access. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Homewood Chester
Chester Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing