We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel and the staff were highly professional and pleasant during our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hotel and the staff were highly professional and pleasant during our stay.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent four (4) days at the Hyatt Place in Chester during my wedding celebration and found the staff fully professional, caring and supported of my needs as a guests. Let me remind everyone, I was there when there was no electricity in the area because of a storm but regardless of the storm the staff at the hotel was fully supported. Furthermore, my room was extremely clean and there was no issue with bugs as stated by others.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and looking forward going there again this weekend. One more thing, they are pet-friendly and many of the guests (just like myself) are part of the Fort Lee military family that travel consistently to see our love ones. My regards to all of the staff. Respectfully, Nataly M. Anifrani

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve_1, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600.

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
General Manager
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    97
    42
    21
    12
See reviews for
139
57
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel was fine and comfortable. However after going downstairs to catch breakfast, we realized the clock in the room was an hour behind! This caused us to miss breakfast and an important appointment re: my mother-in-law's death. I guess we were wrong to assume the clock in the room was correct. Very frustrating. Considering other hotel for return trip tomorrow because of this. We had to reschedule for Friday and put a damper on our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve_1, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
General Manager
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel if you don't want to be blamed for broken item in your room a week after check out and having a LARGE charge on your credit card. When you do call and speak with the manager, Ms. Terry [--], do not think for a second you will get any type of respect, customer service, or even a pleasant conversation (you won't get a word in edgewise...this I promise).

The so called manager MS. TERRY [--] is the most rude, loud mouthed, ignorant person I have ever had the pleasure of speaking with.
I still can't believe that Hyatt would even consider putting this type of ignorance in a management position.

Stay at your own risk...but remember, a great deal in the beginning could COST YOU BIG…BEWARE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorerqueen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve_1, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Im so sorry that you feel this way, I tried my best to communicate with your son during his stay to resolve this issue. A thorough lock audit was completed on the room and no other entries were made during the time he occupied the room. Unfortunately he checked out a daily early, so I was not able to futher discuss the situation with him and without an alternate form of payment, we had no alternative but to charge the card on file.

Its always a diffcult situation when there are damages to a room. Each guest when they register becomes responsible for keeping the room in good conditions and free of damages. When damages occur it is the registered guest(s) financial responsibility to replace such damaged items.

Once again I am sorry for this inconvenience.

Terry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We decided to stay here on our long drive up from the South. Check-in went well, and our room seemed to be a little shop-worn but clean. However, when I set something down on the sofa I noticed something moving...very small insects that appeared to be ants. I later noticed more ants on the bathroom counter. The sofa was worn out, and the room itself was overdue for an update. This place needs to be de-bugged and renovated. The very nice staff deserves a better place to work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Terry Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My only complaint would be that the bed seemed to be slightly lop-sided. But the sheets were clean and pillows comfortable. Room was very clean and bathroom. Check-in was a breeze no issues. The hotel smelled nice when you first walk in. Clean. I noticed one afternoon how the young lady working there took time out for each and every table to spray with cleaner and wipe down the tables with care. I shall return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600.

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We checked in early and stayed on the 4th floor. While getting ready to go to bed a cockroach rand from under the sink and ran to the bed. We smashed it but where there's one there's more. There were dirty dishes in the hall when we arrived and were still there when we came back later that night. This place needs a good cleaning and an extermination. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinnia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
General Manager
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgaw
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 4 days with a reunion group. We arrived early and the desk lady went out of her way to find a room that was turned over, even though it was only 1:30. The room was spacious and very well designed. We had a walk-in shower, similar to the one I have at home. Great internet speed with an easy log-on process that didn't have to be redone as many hotels do. Awesome flat screen tv that pivoted on a single post about 240 degrees.
The breakfast was generous with something for just about every taste. Great coffee and the conveyor toaster was very fast and accurate on heat.
Overall, it was a great place for us to stay for this reunion. All of the staff made eye contact and were very friendly. These folks are well trained and obviously value their customers.

Room Tip: First floor corner is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was a little surprised not to see plastic and aluminum recycling bins, but I don't know how VA deals with those issues
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike16248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve_1, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful postive feedback, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Terry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#2 of 14 in Chester
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Address: 13148 Kingston Ave, Chester, VA 23836-5725
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing