We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Ants”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We decided to stay here on our long drive up from the South. Check-in went well, and our room seemed to be a little shop-worn but clean. However, when I set something down on the sofa I noticed something moving...very small insects that appeared to be ants. I later noticed more ants on the bathroom counter. The sofa was worn out, and the room itself was overdue for an update. This place needs to be de-bugged and renovated. The very nice staff deserves a better place to work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Terry Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    95
    39
    21
    12
See reviews for
135
56
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My only complaint would be that the bed seemed to be slightly lop-sided. But the sheets were clean and pillows comfortable. Room was very clean and bathroom. Check-in was a breeze no issues. The hotel smelled nice when you first walk in. Clean. I noticed one afternoon how the young lady working there took time out for each and every table to spray with cleaner and wipe down the tables with care. I shall return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600.

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We checked in early and stayed on the 4th floor. While getting ready to go to bed a cockroach rand from under the sink and ran to the bed. We smashed it but where there's one there's more. There were dirty dishes in the hall when we arrived and were still there when we came back later that night. This place needs a good cleaning and an extermination. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinnia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
General Manager
Terry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgaw
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 4 days with a reunion group. We arrived early and the desk lady went out of her way to find a room that was turned over, even though it was only 1:30. The room was spacious and very well designed. We had a walk-in shower, similar to the one I have at home. Great internet speed with an easy log-on process that didn't have to be redone as many hotels do. Awesome flat screen tv that pivoted on a single post about 240 degrees.
The breakfast was generous with something for just about every taste. Great coffee and the conveyor toaster was very fast and accurate on heat.
Overall, it was a great place for us to stay for this reunion. All of the staff made eye contact and were very friendly. These folks are well trained and obviously value their customers.

Room Tip: First floor corner is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was a little surprised not to see plastic and aluminum recycling bins, but I don't know how VA deals with those issues
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike16248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve_1, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful postive feedback, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Terry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from a road trip from Boston to Hilton Head Island, SC.

In our quest to find a decent hotel for our stopover that accommodated 5 adults at a reasonable price (under $100), this hotel fit the bill perfectly. We booked through "priceline".

We had 2 queen beds and a very large fold out sectional sofa. It was a very practical and roomy set up. The sink was just outside the bathroom, so that one person could use the sink/mirror, while another showered. I will say that the bathroom space itself was rather small. We found the beds comfy, and the room was clean and fresh smelling.
There was also a small fridge and coffee maker.

The breakfast was included in the price and was terrific. They had a variety of fruits, breads, cereals, and even biscuits and gravy. They also served starbucks coffee :)
Probably one of the best inclusive breakfasts we have had on the road.

We arrived very late, and the gentleman at the desk was very polite and efficient.

We didn't use any of the amenities, so I cannot comment on them.

We booked ahead on which I highly recommend for long road trips. There's nothing worse than feeling exhausted from a long drive, and finding nothing decent available.

I highly recommend stopping here for your next road trip south!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600.

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
Terry Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped overnight on our way to florida. Easy off 95 or 295. Great price. The employee who checked us in the evening was awesome. The place had a cool modern decor. The rooms are big. Bed was comfortable. Tv was huge! Only down side wa the A/C was so noisy we couldn't hear the TV. In the morning the girl at the desk seemed more interested in her cell phone and cigarette break, than making sure the breakfast was tended to. The coffee was cold; the hot skillets were cold. Disappointing. Still, overall a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600.

Sincerely,

Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester GM
Terry Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We travel lots by car and stay loyal to the Hyatt family of hotels. We picked this Hyatt Place for a 1 night overnight stay while traveling I95 to Florida as it is convenient on/off and there are also restaurants very close by. Pros: cost, location, and comfy bed for a good nights rest. Cons: the sofa was badly stained and had an odor of urine. Also, the remote didn't work well. Hyatt Place has complimentary breakfast until 9:30am and now includes some hot items which are ok. Service: Our check-in and check out was very quick and both of the front desk staff were very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our a survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 804-530-4600

Sincerely,

Terry Ford
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Address: 13148 Kingston Ave, Chester, VA 23836-5725
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing