We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

It was just an overnight stop on the family trip. This hotel I chose not by accident, had a very good experience before. So, got a great room, great amenities. Staff immediately addressed my concern about smoking smell in a nonsmoking room, they gave us a room right across the hall, so no problems after that. Had complimentary breakfast buffet which was satisfactory... We really wanted sausage and omelet, but it would cost you. Another suggestion, put microwave in the room!

Room Tip: I think the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    94
    39
    20
    12
See reviews for
127
55
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was just a quick one nighter for us. We were just hoping to get checked in, grab some zzz's and breakfast in the morning on our way out. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Friendly, efficient and kind. The hotel has a few quirks in the rooms - lighting is a little dim and the heating unit is old but the place was clean and the beds were comfy. We would stay here again and also recommend it to friends and family.

I almost forgot the bonus. Jalapenos Mexican restaurant is literally at the edge of the parking lot. Excellent near authentic Mexican - one of the best Mexican restaurants I've tried in Virginia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just needed a place to stay for the night after an 8-hour drive. I walked in this Hyatt and thought ok not a bad choice. The receptionist was on what sounded like a personal call and paid little attention to me. Finally a manager showed up and started to check me in while he, too, was on a personal call!!! He had a Bluetooth thing on so it was hard to tell when he was speaking with me; he kept saying "oh, not you".

I was a single traveler and he gave me a room with 2 beds; after I specified that I needed a single! Anyway, It was very late and dark so I can't really comment on the cleanliness of the facility. The room was decent and the bathroom was clean. The beds, on the other hand, were just plain nasty. The first one had brown hair all over!!!! I was so tired and needed to get back on the road early the next day so I moved on to the second bed...no hair but a signs that says something like "to help the environment we only change our sheets every 3 days". Really??? Even after someone slept in them???

Check out was a mission. I paid cash and they kept saying I have a balance...that looked like a credit. What? I was done at that point. I sincerely hope that daytime service is better because the night crew doesn't seem to have a clue! I should have picked one of the cheaper hotels nearby. I mean this is a Hyatt!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

just what it should be no more or no less, just weak breakfast but hyatt place is not what you want for breakfast anyway. just a good cheap hotel with good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This Hyatt has generally all the things you need but the noise from the indiviidual fan and AC in each bedroom will cause you pause. I don't know that there is anything that can be done about it but to change the type of cooling/heating device.
The coffee is terrible------supposed to be Starbucks, but tooo bitter and weak. The rest of the Continental breakfast is fine.
The bathroom has poor lighting, granted it is only a tub/shower and toilet but still it would be nice to have had some light in the shower. The sink is outside that room where the light is better at least.
To get to the outside pool you have to walk past the AC units and the smoking employees.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Couch not in room as described. Removed by management for there personal reasons. I was stuck with a room without the sofa bed that I needed. Given comp breakfast coupons to make up for the couch but no one was there to make breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived at this hotel after spending the day at Kings Dominion. It was a huge room with 2 beds and a seperate area with a couch and desk. The beds were great. Didn't check out the pool or breakfast, as we ate next door at Wawa. I would definitely return to this location at a later date.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coley303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Address: 13148 Kingston Avenue, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing