We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersBronze level
massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really liked this property. It is very clean, updated and the breakfast was hearty. The only thing I could add to the breakfast-was more of a selection of fresh fruits(only had apples) would have been better. The pool was large and no one was in it-kids loved having it to themselves. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a Chinese place in the nearby plaza and that was excellent for take out.

Room Tip: Upper floor and corner rooms-away from elevator are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkrm1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    60
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
30
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. I didn't experience any problems with noise and the rooms were very nice and breakfast was good.

One thing you might consider before making a reservation is that when I was here, about 90% of the guests were Army and Army families. From what I understand, some of them are living here long term.

I served in the Army myself, so I got nothing against our fighting men and women, but since I'm a businessman now, I felt a bit out of place walking around in my suit and nearly everyone I saw like 26 years old and dressed in combat fatigues.

Everyone was really nice, but just ask yourself if you saw a very nicely appointed Army barracks with a "Vacancy" sign out front, consider if you'd stay there if you were on local business.

So pretty nice spot, but I felt a bit out of place not being in uniform.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The room and location was well kept and maintained. The shortfall was in service, I attempted to relay the issues with Sonita Segrest the GM but her staff either failed to pass on my info or she didn't care to resolve them with me. The hotel is filled to capacity by the US Army officer trainees so this may be part of the complacency. The hotel will have to fix this soon because Fort Lee will open a 1000 bed hotel and all this government billing will dry up. The service issues included low standard housekeeping, the housekeeping staff would come in and do the bare minimum (Make the bed, new towels etc.) but the normal quality of care I've seen at other Residence Inn's was not met. This may be due to staff shortfalls or poor QC by mangement....both easily fixed with an engage leader. I stayed 4 nights and the first morning's breakfast had run out of a number of items (OJ, breakfast meats, the waffle iron was missing, etc.) the next 3 days were back up to the norm. Bottom Line, the hotel could easily be a "excellent" if the management was engaged in the quality of services.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basketball court, the constant bouncing of the ball can become annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Residence inn has become our new favorite hotel brand! It's perfect for our family of four. Hot breakfast, large TVs, full kitchen, modern amenities, GREAT PRICE!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had an excellent experience at the Residence Inn Marriot in Chester and I would definitely recommend this hotel. I had to change my reservation dates a couple times and the staff did so without an attitude and were quite professional. The room was very up to date and well appointed with nice finishes. Everything was nice from the furnishings and decor to all the amenities in the kitchenette. You can be comfortable in this hotel if you are staying for a week long vacation or TDY to Fort Lee for 3 months. This hotel even offers a complimentary dinner 3 nights a week in addition to the 7 days a week complimentary hot breakfast. The only down side I noticed during my stay was the indoor pool was not heated so the water was a bit chilly in early May but the whirlpool was hot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RB0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is SENSATIONAL! The rooms are immaculate and the staff literally bends over backwards to accommodate their guests. Kudos to Operations Manager Marc Cabo for his superior service. My only suggestion is the hotel needs better directions and signage as you exit I-295 until you reach the entrance.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BW0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you need a flexible extended stay option in the Chester/Richmond area I would definitely recommend this place; especially if you have dogs. I relocated to the area and needed to temporary place to live with my dogs while I looked for a more permanent home. It was convenient to work (close to 285 and 95). The rooms are all modern with granite counters and very comfortable beds. The staff is nice and like all residence inns there's food every morning and some evenings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor in the corner. The northwest corner rooms have three exterior walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nkneizeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Property: Residence Inn Richmond Chester
Address: 800 Bermuda Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23836-2705
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#4 Green Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing