We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confused.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“confused.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time we've traveled with our dog who is a 23 lb non shedding, well behaved dog. Was surprised at the fee for our dog to stay. When I made the reservation on the website it was a $75 fee. Steep but in line with other hotels I checked for our trip to Florida. When we went to check in the young woman at the desk said it was $100. I didn't argue, it was late and we were tired. I did mention what the website indicated and she graciously lowered the price to $75. The room was clean and comfortable. What I am confused about is that on our return trip to central NY we stayed at a Fairfield Inn in Florence, SC and the fee for our dog was $35. I wonder why such a discrepency.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokepole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on the hotel - I am glad that you found the service to be graceful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The pet fee is $75 as you mentioned as we have to shampoo the carpets and provide a deep clean to the rooms once the pets have vacated - and this covers the costs of providing that service.

Regards

Andrew Mercer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    73
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
89
49
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Better than average for a Fairfield. Used coupon from travel book which made it a good value. I would not pay regular price which is usually over $100 a night. Room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that the ac/heater unit was loud and the fan is either on or off, no auto option. Basically, I slept with it off which was a little chilly. A little difficult to get to due to traffic routing but there are good resturant choices nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn Chester - we pride ourselves in our clean facilities and great service - we are working with Chesterfield County to try and improve our entrance and egress to make it safer and easier for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Considering I stayed on Marriott Points and the rooms (we booked 2 rooms each with 2 double beds) were 'free', no complaints on my end. Rooms were clean and neat although I found the carpeting a bit old and needing updating but other than that, it was fine. Easy location to get on and off the freeway.

Breakfast was mediocre but it did fill the hunger gap. Teenagers enjoyed the pool.

Unfortunately I did not think to take pictures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on the hotel - we appreciate the feedback both positive and negative - we are scheduled to renovate the hotel in the fall from top to bottom - which is a year ahead of schedule - so we are excited and looking forward to good this to come . Also Fairfield is rolling out a new hot breakfast in late april where we are making things healthier and now providing a hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and a meat item each day - so stay tuned!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is your average Fairfield Inn. However, If you are a dog owner you are in luck. The hotel now caters to dogs. They are all housed in the first floor rooms. If you don't appreciate the smells and sounds of dogs you should stay on the upper floors or better still find a different hotel. What a shame.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments on pets at the hotel - we currently do accept pets and keep them on the ground floor of the hotel so that our other guests are not inconvenience - we do limit the amount of pets in the hotel and only take small ones. We then professional clean the rooms once the pets have departed.
The hotel will be undergoing complete renovations in the fall at which time we will no longer accept pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My family was recently displaced due to a tragic housefire and the Red Cross arranged for us to stay at the Fairfield Inn that same night. The next day we were overwhlemed with phone calls from concerned family and friends as well as waiting to hear back from the insurance company and before we knew it our checkout time had come. The staff being aware of our situation allowed us to stay in our room past the checkout time with no hassle so that our insurance company could make arrangements. I appreciate the courtesy and concern expresssed to us by the staff at the Fairfield Inn during such a difficult time in our lives. The hotel is conveniently located near I-95 as well as various restaurants, groecry stores and shopping areas. Will definitely recommend to family traveling from out of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
many thanks for your great comments on our hotel - we strive each and every day to take care of all our customers no matter their situation.

we look forward to welcoming you back for a happier occasion

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having to visit relatives in Richmond, we choose the Fairfield Inn, Chester for our "home base" while there. It is a great location and a respite when we need to escape for a while. The employees are very nice, the hotel is clean and the breakfast is wonderful. We will target this hotel for every visit we make to Richmond. It is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Thanks again

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was a disgrace. The first room we were given was located over some kind of compressor outside that went off every 30 seconds. We asked to have a quieter room since we were exhausted from a long ride. We were put into another room down the hall. I checked this room out first. It was next to the electrical room and was noisier than the first. "Are you kidding me?" I asked for another room. Third room was also in ear shot of the noisy compressor from room #1. We put on the heater to block out the noise. We noticed how filthy the heater was. It had black mold and dust balls hanging from the vents. We turned heat off in fear of catching something. The window was filthy inside and out. Forget the curtains.ugh. The bathroom was a disaster. There was paint peeling inside the tub. They must have painted the bottom. The rest of the tub had a ring of dirt around the edge. Shower curtain was gross. Shower had no pressure at all. The place must have been some old run down hotel that they converted as it was so nasty. If you value your health do not go there. Another thing, it is supposed to be non-smoking; however, I could smell stale cigarettes probably from 30 years ago. First time ever my husband refused to leave a tip. Breakfast was mediocre and the trash was overflowing in all four baskets. No ice machine except on first floor. I really checked out the bed for bedbugs as I truly think this was one of the worst hotels ever I slept in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I appreciate the time that you took to let us know that we did not meet your expectations - as the new General Manager of the hotel we are making great strides towards improving both the cleanliness and service that we provide for our customers - obviously we failed miserably in your case and I do apologize - I would be delighted to talk with you to get some more details - if you could contact me at the hotel I would greatly appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester

Property: Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Address: 12400 Redwater Creek Rd, Chester, VA 23831-2342
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near I-95 south of Richmond, Virginia, this newly renovated Fairfield Inn prides itself on providing first class service. Our new rooms provide a wonderful workspace as well as comfortable beds and furnishing to help you relax. Our hot complimentary breakfast each morning provides a great start to your day. You can also relax in our indoor pool or work out in our new fitness facility. We also have a laundry if the need arises ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester
Fairfield Inn Chester
Fairfield Chester
Chester Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing