We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chester
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice to be able to count on a clean room, nice lobby and a good breakfast. Beverages and fruit were available all day and night and was greatly appreciated when we arrived late after a long drive. All staff members were very friendly. Easy to get to off Route 95 or Route 295. This was very helpful, since we were directed to 295 due to construction on I-95.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 441 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

For a one-night stay, where we just needed a place to sleep while we attended a wedding reception in the area, this hotel was fine. We also appreciated the quick and simple complimentary breakfast before hitting the road for home. Although a little cramped and dark for our tastes (probably because the hotel is a little older), the room and bathroom were clean enough, the room was quiet, and we slept well. This hotel isn't anything fancy, and is probably best suited for passers-through just like us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Typical Hampton. Rooms clean and friendly staff. This location is outside Richmond and a great place to start from to pick up the Plantation Tour along the James River. A straight shot from the hotel maybe 10 or so miles.

The only surprise was that we typically place the 'do not disturb' sign on the door when we go to breakfast which we did this time, too. The surprise was that it was ignored. The staff has already stripped the bed and taken the used towel by the time we got back. They stopped, we finished packing and left. I reported this to the front desk lady who was very apologetic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great hotel and very handy on a journey back from family in North Carolina to a flight back from Washington to the UK. Right near the I-95. Good stay, all in all, and we'd use a Hampton again, as a result. Very similar to the Premier Travel Inn chain in the UK and everything was to a great standard. Found a local restaurant on TripAdvisor... Cesare's Italian, up the road. Enjoyed a good, cheap meal with friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet area, but yet close to a multitude of attractions. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The down side is uncomfortable beds and a limited choice at breakfast for those on a low carbohydrate diet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank sassyhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

So nice to have a hotel chain to depend on when traveling. Its always my first choice for a night on the road. This hotel did not disappoint. Friendly front desk service, very comfortable beds, quiet, yummy complimentary cookies, and a full hot breakfast of many enticing options. Refigerator lacked a freezer but it was of no consequence to us. Thanks Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildthing_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel is older and tucked away behind the Comfort Inn so it may be a bit hard to find, but it is definitely worth it. Very clean and quiet. Staff at the front desk were great and made us feel welcome. Freshly baked cookies and fruit are available in the lobby at all times which is a very nice touch. The bathroom was spotless and towels were super soft. I was slightly disappointed with the bed. Every other Hampton Inn I have ever stayed at had a soft mattress topper on top of the mattress. This one did not have that, so the bed was ok, but I was expecting the signature Hampton bed. Overall, it was a great place to stay convenient to restaurants and the interstate, yet tucked away in a quiet location. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelliott19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chester

Address: 12610 Chestnut Hill Rd, Chester, VA 23836-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $130 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing