We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chester
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Washington and only arrived late in the evening around 11:30. The lady at check-in couldn't have been more pleasant. Welcoming us straight away as the remaining outstanding guests.

We had free wi-fi and a nice continental breakfast. I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised by the standard and what you got for the money at this hotel..!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentaylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    108
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
133
108
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a bread and butter Hampton Inn. Clean, very good staff and a good location. No problems with my stay and actually called the day before to request a close room to the front desk due to being on crutches. Issue resolved, got to the hotel and they saw the crutches, called me by name and said that they had a room close by. I was 2 doors down from the front desk. Well done! This is my second time staying here and will have no problem staying here in the future. They have some major construction in progress so getting in may require some adjustment but getting out is the same as usual.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinto25Cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there on our journey up I-95. It is a standard Hampton Inn, clean room, good front desk, quiet air conditioner, excellent value. Loved the cookies. We stopped at the Welcome Center and found a coupon for this hotel, which made it an excellent value. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The inn is convenient to I 95. The host was welcoming and even called to check on our needs. There was coffee and cookies in the lobby. Breakfast is ready at 6 a.m....great for travelers and checkout is noon if you like to sleep in. Beds were very, very comfortable and room was immaculate. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I think the best part of my stay here was how comfortable the beds were. The place is a bit musty smelling. Breakfast was okay. Plenty of eating places around the area. Nothing earth shattering to report. Liked the free cookies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here as a gathering point for a family wedding. The overall experience was good, but the staff was not the least bit friendly, they never smiled or said a word to us. We stayed in a king suite which was nice... except for the ants. Though the staff responded promptly when told, the ants kept coming back, indicating a deeper problem. I hope they investigated after we checked out. The ants were in the bar area by the sink and kept coming back after repeated spraying. The breakfast was good, and I did appreciate that it was ready at 0515 on a Sunday morning as I was waiting for my ride to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We found this hotel through the TripAdvisor reviews. It was getting late and we were looking for a place to stop for the night on our I-95 Northbound drive home from Florida.

This hotel is just off I-95 exit 61, or about 5-10 minutes off I-295 exit 15. Before we decided to stay, we drove around the vicinity first and determined it looked like a very nice area in which to live, shop or work. With that, we went inside.

As AAA members, we got the rate published on the Hampton Inn website, and it was more than fair. The front desk clerk was very cheerful and pleasant. Upon request, she gladly riffled around behind the counter and found us a pizza delivery menu for her own favorite shop.

The room was very clean, and even though it faced the parking lot it was relatively quiet. The pillows and mattress were very comfortable. The sheets were soft and fitted. The bedcover was lightweight but warm enough.

The air conditioner worked properly and wasn't too noisy. There was a flat panel TV that swiveled and could be comfortably watched from the bed, desk, or stylish high-leg reclining chair.

In the bathroom, the shower head was mounted nice & high, had plenty of pressure and no shortage of hot water. And they provided such a nice assortment of amenities on the sink - like a shower cap and a shoe-shine cloth - along with the usual soaps and shampoo.

Free breakfast near the lobby included coffee, tea, juices, cereal, prepared oatmeal with toppings, danish, english muffins, bagels, a few hot items like eggs and sausage, and 2 make-your-own waffle makers. It was all being well-maintained by a hotel staff member. And it was plenty good, especially for the price!

We found our visit restful and relaxing, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyBeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chester

Property: Hampton Inn Chester
Address: 12610 Chestnut Hill Rd, Chester, VA 23836-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing