We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good two-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good two-star hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed three nights; Mon - Wed. Good service from the desk staff and the chamber people. The owner, Aneil, tries to please his guests. I would stay here again. A very good two-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    10
    24
See reviews for
17
5
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Once hotel management knew about my dog they wanted to additional charge me $35.00.
Not only is that amount over the top for pet charges usually $20.00 every where else. This Clarion Hotel in Chester VA threathen me with the credit card charge or I could leave my room and the hotel without my paid hotel amount of $69.00 . They will not accept your pet unless you paid their $35.00 ransom. They also demand the $35.00 cash or charge immediately or it goes on your credit without approval.
If you travel with a dog compaion like I do ( I am a windower) stay away from this Clarion hotel in Chester, VA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fringe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Hotel was really good. The location is really convenient right off the exit. and Hooters is right next doors so you get food and beer. Nice place to chill and stop by along your long drive.
Staff were really helpful. They show me the direction to certain places also informed me about the other good restaurants near the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dp0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The reviews are right! Do yourself a favor and pass this hotel by.

This place is way to "BUGGY" -- Roaches & Bed Bugs... EEWWWHHH. No Shower Curtain in many our our room, doors wouldn't close right, holes is bath tubs - item stolen out of the back of a truck outside... Just don't waste your time here! There are other hotels across the street - stay at one of those.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank B4andAfter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I came here with a big group of colleagues, so we all had plenty of horror stories to share about the rooms. The biggest thing you should know is that there is absolutely a roach infestation. The other reviewers are not lying about this! One of my colleagues found a giant roach upon first entering his room. Another colleague saw multiple roaches scatter when he turned on his lights. And if you don't have the pleasure of seeing a roach in your room, just look for all the dead ones in the hallways and stairwells. This hotel is extremely dirty. There were big stains on my floor, ceilings, and walls. My colleague found a big collection of nail clippings on the carpet. The maintenance staff came and picked them up by hand, which makes me think they may not even have any working vacuums. There are strange noises in the room - I'm not sure if it's bugs or what, but I had a very hard time falling asleep. There are some hotels literally right across the street. Just go stay in one of those, because in no way is this place worth saving the $5 or $10 a night, unless you are not bothered by bugs or filth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginacarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I stayed here on the Government's dime. I was attending a two week course at nearby Ft. Lee. My first night as I sat in my rickety chair to use the computer, I noticed something dark under the bed that was about 1" long. Further investigation indicated that it was a dead Cockroach, prompting me to buy slippers (which I've never worn in a hotel). Thinking that it had just died and looking for a fight, I decided to leave it there to see how long it took for housekeeping to get it. Two days later, before I left for class, I kicked it out from under the bed because I was tired of looking at it. I later spoke with some of my classmates who also found dead roaches.
I was also shocked that in my two weeks there, the only hot showers I enjoyed were the ones I took immediately upon retuning from class or right before bed. A hot shower in the morning just wasn't going to happen. I've never been in a hotel that ran out of cold water. In all fairness though, the desk clerk was more than happy to move me to a different room (which I'm not sure would have helped), but I chose to stay where I was rather than repacking all my stuff.
My last complaint was their business center. It consists of two computers and a printer. I went to print handouts for my class and found that one of the computers had some type of error message that prevented me from doing anything and the other wouldn't print. The desk clerk informed me that he cold print for me at $1.00 (yes I said one dollar) per page. Thankfully, he didn't charge me for my 4 page document.
One thing I do have to say though, they did take great care of us. I don't know if they do this for all the guests, but every night a clerk delivered milk and cookies to our rooms. Additionally, this was the first time I can remember the front desk clerk calling me on several occasions to ensure that all was well.
The bed was comfortable and conveniently located. If I ever have to return, I hope that I get to stay in a different hotel.

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Disliked — Maintenence
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GOTYER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Army contracts with this hotel for a rate of 80+ a night. We had over 80 rooms booked for 2 weeks. You would think with that kind of money comming in they would take care of thier hotel.

There were multiple problems with rooms and the hotel itself including but not limited to:
- bed bugs in about 4 rooms
- a mouse or 2 that seems comes over from Hooters next door
- the maids have stolen money, personal soap, personal towels, a cell phone charger, ect... from soldiers
- some room doors didn't lock
- the air conditioning did not work for days in rooms because of power issues, and other rooms just didn't have functional air conditioners
- the outside back doors to enter the hotel didn't always lock
- the hotel had roaches
- and they are way over staffed and house keeping doesn't speek English

I am writing this because it seems unfair to have a good review and for people to expect something out of this place.

Also I would like to add who would ever treat soldiers in such a disrespectfull way when they are getting paid pleanty of money to upkeep this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — i hated my stay
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jslittleone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Chester
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 2401 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23831-2304 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Clarion
Clarion Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing