We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelby is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shelby is amazing”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Shelby at the front desk is amazing! Trip was nearly doomed but with Shelby's help it was saved! Couldn't have have had a better experience! Thank you, Shelby! Everyone should come to Chester and stay at this holiday inn express!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkampel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for the great review of you stay with us! We are excited to see we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and hope we were able to make your time here memorable. We will also give our kudos to Shelby for making your stay enjoyable, I couldn’t have agreed more with you about how delightful it is to have Shelby with us. We would love to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for your generous review and we wish you safe travels!

Yours in Hospitality,

Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
17
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's been over a year since I have stayed at the Chester Holiday Inn Express. Pleasantly to say nothing has change. I got great service and a clean room. The rooms of adequate size so you don't feel cramped; same with the bathroom. The only complaint I had like last time not enough wall plugs. I fixed that this time I brought a power strip along, and voila, problem solved.

The breakfast bar in the morning is always well stocked with good tasting food. No way you cannot leave hungry. You have to try the cinnamon rolls. Those are really great.

Every time I have check-in, Shannon ( I hope I remember her name correctly) is at the front desk. She has been at the with Holiday Inn 10 years. Always very helpful; good conversation and represents the hotel very professionally. Having been in the hospitality business (hotel software) have a great employee like Shannon at the front desk is a blessing and I hope management recognizes that.

Once again I was very pleased with my stay at the Chester Holiday Inn Express. Highly recommended for the weary road traveler

Room Tip: Every room I have had was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oda5261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of your stay with us! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We have also shared your comments with Shannon and the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to the area.

Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

First room given was occupied upon opening door.. Glad they were just eating pizza! Front desk attendant was not phased by this error which she blamed on the computer & gave us new room key! (attendant had no name tag or uniform but her low cut top gave us something we didn't want to see) new room was an upgraded suite which was large, but but old, dirty & smokey.... We reserved a non smoking and didn't need a jetted tub from the 80's and an electric fireplace..... And housekeeping knocked on our door at 8am Sunday morning.... Must have been another computer glitch. Very Disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MizChiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I do apologize that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations. If you wish to discuss this any further please feel free to give me a call at your convenience, 804-751-0123.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

To have a treat over the holiday without leaving town, we stayed here in a room with a garden tub. Sadly, the tub was great but we never ended up using it! (Next time!) The room was clean and the bed was great to sleep in, the place was quiet, and the usual group of construction people who often stay there must have gone home that weekend. Many families were there and we all met during their great breakfast, which was kept hot and fresh. Coffee with assorted mixers, tea, orange juice and apple juice were available, as were dry cereals, oatmeal, muffins and eggs for bagel breakfast sandwiches. The pancake machine took a short time to make three nice sized pancakes, which my son liked. They had a work out room but I was sad to discover they did not have an indoor pool, which would have been a real plus. They often have specials and deals so just ask. The first front desk clerk was very grumpy but I think she ended up doing two shifts so I can understand her mood. The next one was very nice. The next day Miss Grumpy was back with a smile for check out.

Room Tip: Get the end of the floor if you can, away from the elevator, for better quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winniezpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Driving to move my daughter in to college, we spotted the Holiday Inn Express sign on the highway, and decided to turn in for the night. HIE is my first choice brand for good value and updated properties.

The Chester property was not nearly as pristine as most HIE. The bathroom was a bit dirty and was sparsely stocked with old frayed towels, the room smelled a bit, the bedding was old and saggy and the pillows needed to be replaced.

Check in was quick and gracious. We received our welcome snack bag and was given the AAA rate on request. My daughter used the workout room and the equipment was broken and there were no mats for any floor exercise. Breakfast in the morning was not up to expectations - the pancake machine did not work, no eggs, extremely sweet OJ and the coffee station was located away from the dining room, up 3 steps (terrible for the elderly couple that was there).

It wasn't a horrible stay - but not what I have come to expect of Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank where2gonexttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear where2gonexttime,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The room does have a musty smell and the bathroom and refrigerator could use a good cleaning. This looks more like an extended stay hotel with construction workers grilling dinner and drinking beer from the back of their truck in the parking lot. overall just not what I am used to from Holiday inn express.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear buzz911,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm glad to hear you found our staff agent to be friendly and welcoming. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very pleased with our stay! The hotel was very nice, clean and a great location. The staff was very courteous, warm and extremely accommodating to our needs. The room was very clean & comfortable. Morning breakfast was free and had a vast selection which was well stocked. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPSS2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#2 of 14 in Chester
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Chester
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester
Address: 1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary high-speed Internet access at the Holiday Inn Express Chester. Experience the charm and warmth of Chesterfield, Virginia located near Colonial Heights, Hopewell, James River, and Petersburg. We are centrally located off I-95 at exit 61A and I-295 exit 15B, just minutes away from nearby government facilities including Fort Lee, DSC Defense Supply Center. We have easy access to the following businesses: Meadowville Technology, Honeywell, Dominion VA Power, HNI, Phillip Morris, DuPont, SRMC, John Tyler Community College, John Randolph Hospital, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, Capital One and LMR. We are located 13 miles south of Richmond, Virginia and 7 miles north of Southpark Mall in Colonial Heights. Within minutes of the Holiday Inn Express Chester, hotel guests can dine at Applebee s, Cracker Barrel, Pizzeria Uno's Restaurant & Bar, Chili s andO'Charleys Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage gravy and biscuits. Experience the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. We offer local packages including Macys and Rivers Bend Golf Packages for a great experience and your enjoyment. Visit Chester, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing