We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We checked in at 3 am very tired and they were very friendly. The room was a little small and smelled a little musty. We were so tired we just passed out. The free breakfast was very good as it usually is at all HI Expresses with eggs, bananas, yogurt, oatmeal, pancakes, sausage and cereals. It helps out by being right in the lobby with trays available to make a plate for the late sleepers (breakfast is only until 9:30). I usually go down with whoever is awake, eat and bring back food for my husband and those still asleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyofnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

First of all, I wanted to thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Chester while you were in town. Thank you so much for mentioning that our staff was so friendly and that you found the breakfast to begreat.

I was disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We look forward to having the oppurtunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service. It is from our guest taking time to share their feedback that we can continuously improve.

Take care,
Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Quiet hotel right off of I-95. We were on our way to DC and stayed one night. Hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel still has smoking rooms on the upper floors, but you can not smell it anywhere downstairs. Morning breakfast was free and very good. The price was good and the location was better. Many places to eat near by with other shopping.

Room Tip: Hardees right next door, much less traffic on this side of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPAMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Chester. We are pleased that you liked the room as well as the breakfast selection. We also appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. This encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Sincerely,
Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved this place of all the hotels that we stayed at on our trip. Reminded me why Holiday Inn has been around for so long. EXTREMELY clean and helpful staff! Check in/out was quick and easy. Beds were new and sheets were luxurious! Breakfast was fresh, hot and plentiful. Updated decor. Near so many other hotels and stores but this was the best choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are pleased that you liked the room as well as the breakfast selection. We also appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. This encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Sincerely,
Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We travel once a year from NH to SC usually stopping in Roanoke Rapids NC and NJ on the way down and back. This year, we went a little farther coming back from SC and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, VA. While the drive is about 1/2 hr - 3/4 hr longer; its worth it.
Front desk staff was very helpful offering suggestions on where to eat dinner. We chose the Tavern on the Lake, about 1 mile away and a wise choice. Our room was perfect, clean and very quiet. We got a wonderful nights sleep. The next day a buffet breakfast is offered, with plenty of choices of standard breakfast items. I did notice that a staff member was just about always present to clean up any areas left unattended by other guests or answer questions. We will definitely stay here again and will probably become a favorite spot.

Room Tip: Ask about restaurants and places to visit. When you get off the highway, you don't see the many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thursday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for sharing it on the TripAdvisor website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!Thank you for staying with us, and please come see us again soon!

Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed from at the HIE 10-16 March. I found all the staff extremely hospitable! Amada at the front desk, continually went out of her way to accomodate my needs, making copies, provided needle nose pliers, etc. Place was clean, Breakfast was hot, and fresh as you always can expect from a HIE. They even had Texas Pete Hot Sauce unlike many other HIE. Thanks HIE and thanks Amanda! This will definitely be my first choice to stay whenever I return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for sharing it on the TripAdvisor website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Positive recognition such as this means a great deal to all of our team members, and I promise I will share your comments with our staff! Thank you for staying with us, and please come see us again soon!

Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 Mar -3 March. Excellent stay and fantastic service. Checking in was a breeze. Because I used my priority club rewards card when booking my room, my son and I received marvelous treats when we arrived. Towels were so soft and breakfast was complimentary. Breakfast was great (both of us had choices) and parking was free. There was construction going on that made it tough to depart the hotel heading south, but there were no delays because of this minor issue. This is a hot hotel location as we are literally right next door to Courtyard Marriott and Homewood Suites. Best Western and Choice family of hotels are near by. Shopping malls Target, super kmart etc are 1 mile away. I will stay here again as the room was like staying in a hilton garden inn or fairfield. Great tv reception!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kipakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for the many kind comments about our hotel and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Joanne English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I travel alot with work an have to stay for weeks at a time to help or perform work duties for my company i choose to stay at this location every time due to these following reasons: Friendly faces, nice comfortable beds, HOT showers ,and the AC/HEAT is always cold in the summer time an warm in the winter time, never had to worry about anything coming up missing with house keeping(like some places), the staff(Amanda ,Kirsten,Gabbi,Shannon) is always quick at check in an check out weather it's late at night or middle of the afternoon.......Mrs.Joanne(Manager) has always went out of her way to help anyway possible when in need!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshCOLT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#2 of 14 in Chester
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester

Address: 1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $105 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary high-speed Internet access at the Holiday Inn Express Chester. Experience the charm and warmth of Chesterfield, Virginia located near Colonial Heights, Hopewell, James River, and Petersburg. We are centrally located off I-95 at exit 61A and I-295 exit 15B, just minutes away from nearby government facilities including Fort Lee, DSC Defense Supply Center. We have easy access to the following businesses: Meadowville Technology, Honeywell, Dominion VA Power, HNI, Phillip Morris, DuPont, SRMC, John Tyler Community College, John Randolph Hospital, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, Capital One and LMR. We are located 13 miles south of Richmond, Virginia and 7 miles north of Southpark Mall in Colonial Heights. Within minutes of the Holiday Inn Express Chester, hotel guests can dine at Applebee s, Cracker Barrel, Pizzeria Uno's Restaurant & Bar, Chili s andO'Charleys Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage gravy and biscuits. Experience the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. We offer local packages including Macys and Rivers Bend Golf Packages for a great experience and your enjoyment. Visit Chester, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing