We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worlds Worse Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chester
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Worlds Worse Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here and had the most unprofessional hotel attendant EVER. The AC worked in the lobby but the room was hotter than Hades!!! The room was not clean and there was female hair everywhere. If I had to stay in the area again I will stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadKingWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Roadkingwarrior,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I can assure you that your noted comments are certainly not the norm, and will most certainly be addressed. I further welcome your call or email to discuss the details of your visit, as well welcome the opportunity to show we can do better.

Sincerely,
Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. Front Desk staff for check in was slow. Breakfast was good, but couldn't get staff to refill pancake machine once it was empty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSU1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear PSU1983,

Thank you for your recent stay and review.It was very concerning for us to read this review of our hotel.We take pride in providing excellent customer service in all areas of the hotel including breakfast.I can assure you your comments will be addressed.


Sincerely,

Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The room was OK. The hotel offers most everything that i've come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express line, minus a pool. The hotel advertises having a "Fitness Center" and a "sauna" . Yes, the hotel has these, but they're quite small, adequate for one person or two, but any more, and it's quite crowded. Add a pool, and it would be much better. Free Breakfast in the lobby in the mornings, and free WiFi. You need a code for this, and they write it on the check-in envelope, but if you're on the 'backside' of the hotel, you can pick up a neighboring hotel's WiFi without a code.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Enjoyed the stay up until I discovered that I Ieft my cell phone charger plugged into the wall behind the nightable. We checked out at about 1:00pm (late check out no problem) and I called at 5:30pm that same day to see if it had been found. Apparently houskeeping was gone, but it hadn't been turned in. Long story short after several calls over two days and cumulative 30 minutes of holding time, it can't be located. The way I see it, either housekeeping took it (had to find it because I unplugged the bedside lamp) or subsequesnt quest took it which means no one from the hotel went to look for it. Shame on me for leaving it, but hotels response could have been way better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodonbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our property. As mobile phone charges are the most commonly left items by travelers/guests, I can understand your frustration. I am happy to take another look in our lost and found department to see if I can locate your missing item. Please do not hesistate to call us so that we can move forward with this transaction.

All the best,

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Staff was nice and that's about the most I can say. We had a room with a "fireplace" (more like a nite light) and jacuzzi (which I fell getting into and out of - poor design). Jacuzzi and Bathroom Floor was extremely slippery and I slipped many times throughout the three days there. Not immaculate. We had a second room and it also was not very special. Due to problem with shower design, bathroom was very wet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOHART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We booked into this hotel via the hotel`s website at 11:30 p.m. for an expect 1 a.m. arrival. When we arrived, the man who checked us in was as slow as molasses. Completely forgiveable at one a.m.. although he said, somewhat curiously that he didn't know where the front desk staff was! We were to get an upgrade autmatically because of the hotel`s loyalty program., which is generally a great program. Didn`t get it and was told that all the rooms are the same anyway except for the suites, which were booked. This is certainly not what their web-site says.

So we staggered off to our room. The third floor stinks - reeks - of stale cigarette smoke. It`s like a bar at six in the morning when the beer and cigarette smoke have gone stale. The door to our room says `non-smoking`` and to be fair, ithe room didn`t stink of smoke. But there is a gap under the door, a big one, and the smoke was unavoidable. It was 1:30 a.m. and we had driven for almost 13 hours. The front desk fellow had been so unhelpful at check-in - and we were so tired - that we simply lived with it. We mentioned it in the morning to the very efficient front desk woman who promised to credit us with hotel loyalty points. We`ll see.

This is not up to this chain`s standards, that is certain. The room was adequate. A king bed. Four pillows on the bed. No extra blanket. The heater/AC is a unit that sits close to the floor and has its thermostat right on it - no thermostat to set a temperature - simply the type that allows you to set hot, cold, more hot, more cold... and noisy. Free internet. Close to I95 south. Dated but functional showers

We were very tired from driving, so I'm trying to be fair. We booked this hotel, however, because of the chain's name, and they shoudl meet the standard of the chain. This one doesn't and there are too many other choices out there. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawamkeag, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I was there for a total of 12 weeks while working in the area, room was pretty quiet, clean, there was no restaurant on the site but plenty of restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireeater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester

Address: 1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary high-speed Internet access at the Holiday Inn Express Chester. Experience the charm and warmth of Chesterfield, Virginia located near Colonial Heights, Hopewell, James River, and Petersburg. We are centrally located off I-95 at exit 61A and I-295 exit 15B, just minutes away from nearby government facilities including Fort Lee, DSC Defense Supply Center. We have easy access to the following businesses: Meadowville Technology, Honeywell, Dominion VA Power, HNI, Phillip Morris, DuPont, SRMC, John Tyler Community College, John Randolph Hospital, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, Capital One and LMR. We are located 13 miles south of Richmond, Virginia and 7 miles north of Southpark Mall in Colonial Heights. Within minutes of the Holiday Inn Express Chester, hotel guests can dine at Applebee s, Cracker Barrel, Pizzeria Uno's Restaurant & Bar, Chili s andO'Charleys Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage gravy and biscuits. Experience the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. We offer local packages including Macys and Rivers Bend Golf Packages for a great experience and your enjoyment. Visit Chester, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing