We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Camden, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst than bad!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever. Myself along with my wife and two children, checked in at 4:00 pm. Close to midnight the desk clerk attempted to enter our room unannounced with a master key. When I confronted him, He claimed he was checking to see if anyone was in the room. We had the morning clerk “who was very professional” to call general manager Peter at home to convey our problem; he stated he was on the way.
Peter finally arrived three hours later than his normal time. He stated he had checked in to it and the clerk came into our room because our credit card was denied and we would need to pay cash. We explained there was no reason for our credit card to be denied and ask if we could call our bank to find out the problem. Peter became very irate and stated at this point he could only accept cash and if we were afraid of the clerk entering our room we should have called the police!
The receipt for our cash payment only read the word cash and the amount, not our name, the hotel name or what we were paying for. We became suspicious and called our credit card company any way only to find out our credit card had not been denied! Hopefully the Candlewood Suites Company or the police will help with this awful situation.
Other than the night clerk scaring my family so bad it spoiled our entire vacation and the GM who condone and participated in this behavior. Our only other complaint was our non-smoking room reeked with cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Use your safety latch and double check your credit card charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Troy W,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Chesapeake.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great rooms,clean rooms. The staff was very helpful.
I must have arrived on a bad day. There seemed to be a lot of drama and police having something to do with one of the guests.It made me wonder about the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are looking for a decent suites, with stove, microwave, refrigerator, free laundry machines, complimentary coffee, good staff, I would recommend you to go for it.
They have a free parking lot and decently cleaned lobby.
You will definitely like the stay out there in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Based on other stays in extended stay type hotels, I would rate this hotel above average. The room and kitchenette were well laid out and very spacious. The bed was comfortable. This was a convenient location to get to the Peninsula and Southside . The hotel staff and manager were very helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend and was pleasantly surprised. I got a room at a good price through Priceline, but had to request a non-smoking, which was not a problem once I spoke to Peter. He took care of the matter quickly. When we entered the room, I was surprised that the room smelled so good. Then I did the bathroom check.....it was great! It smelled nicely, the toilet was clean and the tub was clean (no rust or stains and there was excellent water presser, no clog in the tub either). On top of that the room had a small kitchen with a stove, dishwasher, sink w/garbage disposal, and refrigerator...and also plates, cups, pots, pans, utensils.

When I checked In, I was advised that they don’t clean the rooms on a daily basis because it is an extended stay hotel. The clerk let me know that if I needed new towels, all I had to do was come to the front counter to exchange them….and that’s what I did.

The only complaint that I would have is that we were on the 1st floor and there was a lot of noise above us. I initially thought “maybe the gym is right above us”, but that wasn’t the case, because the gym is on the first floor. So, I don’t know what the noise was about, but it didn’t ruin my stay. Oh, the color on the TV was messed up too, but that also was no big deal for me.

There is no restaurant in this hotel, but Waffle House, 7-11, and Cracker Barrel are in walking distance and the mall and movie theater are just a short drive away. Also, there is no pool.

The staff was plesant, the room was clean, the bathroom was very clean, and the kitchen was great. In the end, I enjoyed my stay and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I moved to this hotel after leaving another one that was close by becuase of bad service. We were very happy with the service at this hotel.Everybody was friendly and hospitable and the front desk guy gave us free snacks from the pantry because both luggage carts were in use when we were checking out. I highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel for our weekend trip to VA Beach last Friday and found this hotel on Hotwire. For $59/night, it was just what we were looking for. The cherry smell when you enter the hotel was very inviting and the front desk person was very friendly. We booked the one bedroom studio which was the perfect size for the two of us and included a kitchen area. The bathroom was a decent size and the bed was very comfortable. Just a short drive away there was a mall, tons of restaurant options and good old Super Walmart!! The only complaint I have is that the cable reception was kind of fuzzy but nothing major where it took away from the TV program. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay in another Candlewood Suites property again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
11.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
11.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
11.4 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#5 of 42 in Chesapeake
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk

Property: Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Address: 4809 Market Pl, Chesapeake, VA 23321-2235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at Exit 11 of I 664 near I 64, & I 264, and minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Harbour View Commerce Park, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Mitre, Sysco JFCOM , US Coast Guard & the Newport News Navy Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment-like suites featuring fullyequipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players and free wired & wireless Internet access. Other features include a 24-hour business center w/ free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing