We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here to get great Mexican food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Loro

El Loro
Ranked #34 of 498 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go here to get great Mexican food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I chose to give El Loro a try tonight. My wife don't really care for Mexican food since we haven't found one yet in Virginia that she likes. I think the curse is over once we got our food at El Loro. The food was great and was prepared quickly. Even my wife said that this is the only Mexican restaurant she will come back too. I fully recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better than typical Mexican.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My family really loves Mexican food and based on a recommendation we went to El Loro. The food wasn't too bad but the table side guacamole was fun to watch and the kids really go into how it was made. They now have a favorite place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Guac prepared at the table...excellente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

A last minute decision to bring our group of 18 for lunch was no problemo for the cheerful staff at El Loro... with multiple fussy eaters the diverse menu accommodated everyone easily. The service-driven team served us promptly in style and without issue. The table-side guacamole was fresh and fabulous; some of the best we've ever tasted; and a fun show too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad for a Mexican joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We decided to go to El Loro for lunch today because we had a coupon. When we first walked in it was pretty busy with patrons coming and going but we were sitted very quickly. As soon as we sat down our server brought us salsa and chips. We ate all the chips and salsa they were pretty good. I ordered a lunch special which included two chicken enchiladas, rice, and lettuce etc. for only $6.49 you cant beat that with a stick. It was pretty good. The food came out hot and within minutes of us ordering. Overall not bad at all I would probably go back for dinner to try something different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Es mui rapido”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed a Mexican dinner here with local friends: they actually returned with our meals faster than the for of us spent ordering. The menu affords all the traditional fares, with enough "combos" to allow us to choose our favorites. Bill averaged $11/person, with hearty enough portions to feel the prices fair. Don't be dissuaded by El Loco's being situated in a strip mall, beside a Weight Watchers!

Helpful?
Thank Sweetsourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Loro also viewed

 

Been to El Loro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing