We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place for locals.”
Review of Court House Cafe

Court House Cafe
Ranked #52 of 500 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint place for locals.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great homemade food. Love the staff! The prices are great. They even have half off bottles of wine on Mondays:)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
currituck NC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Impressive yumminess”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I like to bring folks here. The place is beautiful since the remodel, the staff are long timers...and they recognize you if you come in a few times. A huge menu ranging from crisp, cold salads- the way you like them, to an incredible steak that melts in your mouth. If you're a meatloaf fan...you owe it to yourself to try theirs. I have only had one off experience, and that was at least 50 visits ago. This place just keeps on impressing me.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank twilight3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food. Local Run.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place has been there for years. Has always had good food but before the smoking ban at the adjoining bar, you couldn't stand to eat through the smoke. Well, new owners and completely remodeled, the food is still great and the service is good. Call for reservations. They can be crowded during prime time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank motorgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I live in the Chesapeake area and frequent the Courthouse Cafe more often than any place else. Why? Consistently very good food, attentive and friendly service, and reasonable prices.

Clearly the restaurant was having problems a few years ago. For instance, I read a review here dated 2009 that complained about the prime rib. Here's an update: It was great last Friday evening, April 13, 2012.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Courthouse Cafe for American food, seafood, or prime rib.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseman281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, friendly place”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've been going there for about 25 years and eat there 1 to 2 times a week. Food is greatly and the staff are very friendly. I can't say I have ever been disappointed. The best in Great Bridge.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiliam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Court House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing