We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
4
1
5
5
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
5
5
17
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 32 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hooker motel in September.I am honestly ashamed to say that I even put my head down on a pillow in this place.My daughter was so terrified becauseof the filth that she refused to sleep and my husband was awake all night with her due to the fact that kids were running up and down the hallways,people were in the lobby all hours of the night.We witnessed first hand the hookers and their Johns.This place seems like a slumlord motel.People hang around outside drinking and smoking.The staff stays out front smoking with the guest.When you walk in there is an awful odor.This place was probably a nice place at one time but it has went down hill.When we were there 4 Chesapeake police cars pulled up quickly,and come to find out someone had shot their gun in the hotel putting a hole through the wall and the man who shot the gun was arrested.Police will come quickly for gun shots but if you call and tell them that you are witnessing prostitution.........they are no where to be found.We will NEVER EVER go back to this place.....EVER.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

1 It is dirty and roaches everywhere! 2 no wifi! 3 there's no lounge or dining area 4 there's a funny smell....5 it just dingy! 6 the person that cleaned our room took one of our towels! 7 they actually ran out of toilet paper! But the staff was friendly....

Room tip: Get rid of the roaches! Deep clean everything! Get new beds and beddings! Add a lounge, there was no pool or restaurant...
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhiane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights and had to leave. was planning on staying long term but there is no way i could watch roaches crawl around me. im not use to that type of living. the hotel staff was nice so its not that fault. maybe the hotel was decent at one time and the wrong people moved in. my thing is that ive never been to a hotel where they have a trash room on each floor. who stores trash on a hotel floor when thats going to draw bugs, rodents, mice, etc. trash should be kept outside away from the hotel. i cant believe a health inspector would approved something like that. I checked all my clothes before i left because i didnt want to carry any roaches with me. i learned my lesson though you can gurantee that. and i have to agree with the other reviewer about the other guest. kids running through the hall, people hanging outside the hotel smoking.

Room tip: go book a room up the street else where.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel management needs to step it's game up. Children running throught the hotel all day, staff nice and helpful, but not professional, rooms are totally outdated, carpets need to be cleaned badly, trash overflowing in the trash closets. People hanging out in the front smoking, people hanging out back smoking and drinking. You can tell alot of people live here who are in between homes and that's ok, but staff needs to maintain order in the hotel, this is a hotel, not an apartment complex. No staff available after 11pm. Someone needs to be available 24 hours.

Room tip: If you are looking for cheap place to stay this is it.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CustomerReview777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of Savannah Suites Chesapeake. Guest reviews provide our hotels with the opportunity to improve our services for future guests. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. After recieving several complaints, we have addressed the issues of parental supervision and loitering with the guests that they pertain to. While the front desk does close at 11:00pm there is a night attendant on-property at all time. We apologize again that your stay was less than satisfactory and welcome you back next time you are in Chesapeake, VA to see firsthand how your review has affected our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just wanted a place to stay for the night and this was adequate. Previous reviews from 2006 and 2008 had complained about dirty sheets and towels, so we were a bit apprehensive, but they were fine--not luxurious, but clean. This is definitely not a luxury hotel, but if you don't expect it, it's ok. The bed was comfortable, the room large, and the kitchenette handy--it would have been nice if they had provided some coffee packets since we had to go out and buy coffee and filters. The only mirror is in the bathroom. This appears to be very much a residential hotel--families and singles on extended stays.

My one real complaint is the noise. We were in the first floor corridor and folks seem to congregate and chat on Friday and Saturday night in the reception area. I asked at the desk if there would be a problem and was assured no--well, there was. But by 10 pm, it quieted down.

If you lower your expectations and go for the price, this is just fine.

Room tip: Ask to be on a higher floor and away from the reception area.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjohnsonSS, Guest Relations Manager at InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of Savannah Suites Chesapeake. Guest reviews provide our hotels with the opportunity to improve our services for future guests. Due to the nature of our relationships with business groups, expo and sporting event attendees, and various other groups, it is common for our guests to be familiar with one another while staying at Savannah Suites. The management team will continue to address the issue of noise in the hallways after hours, and will continue to monitor any complaints in the future. We welcome you back the next time you are in Chesapeake, Virginia to experience first-hand how your review has affected our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews