We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough start...but, strong finish.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rough start...but, strong finish.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We scheduled a "romantic evening" after the holidays to allow ourselves the opportunity to relax and recuperate. We chose the King sized room with the Jacuzzi. Cosmetically the room was very well decorated and clean. We settled in and my wife decided to take a shower. Minutes into her shower, the water had not warmed up to a comfortable temperature. To be frank, it was still cold. We allowed the water to run even longer and nothing...still cold. Mind you, my wife is midway through her shower. I called the front desk to inform them of the issue. The young lady at the front desk was very apologetic and comforting. She offered a number of solutions. Eventually, we agreed that using the shower in another room would suffice for the evening. Mainly because my wife wanted to remain in the room with the Jacuzzi. Alexis also discounted the room citing the inconvenience. She even checked on us to ensure that everything was ok. In a situation where she could have easily dismissed us and our concerns, she went above and beyond "good" customer service to ensure our needs were met. Even her manager Dru, the following morning continued with this precedence. He followed up with us and was very helpful as well. I will definitely return to this site my next time in the area. Kudos to Alexis and Dru.

A.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    18
    19
    15
See reviews for
47
19
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for business trips since about 2008. I have always enjoyed the friendly staff and quaint atmosphere. The rooms are clean and I love the complimentary breakfast. The Front Desk Concierge Dru is extremely courteous, attentive, and professional. I would highly recommend this location to anyone traveling for business or personal affairs.
- T. Brown

Room Tip: Just tell the concierge what you are looking for and you will be obliged
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I visit this hotel on a bi-weekly basis for business purposes. The hotel is convenient for my work and travel needs. I have always received a warm welcome upon entry making me feel like it is my home away from home. The staff is courteous, warm and friendly. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are great for on the run. The manager seems to be always present and has a quick smile and hello as well as the staff. With various other hotels in the area, as a platinum member with IHG I give it a two thumbs up!!
Thanks for all you do!

Room Tip: Rooms 208 and 308 are the king suites and quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdD1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went there on the way to the Outer Banks, and we stayed one night in a room with two queen beds. It seemed fine until we were going to sleep and pulled back the comforter to discover that the sheets on one bed were stained with blood. We are not sure if the sheets were just stained or had not been cleaned at all. The young man at the desk said he was the only one there and there was no one from housekeeping. Furthermore there were no another rooms available. My husband asked if they had any clean sheets so at least he could change them. However I could not get the image out of my head so we just used the one bed (with our kids). After much back and forth, we finally got a refund, but we still wonder if the room was ever cleaned. Will not stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank abjj117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and value your business. I take great pride to mention that Quality is not an option but a standard at our hotel. Our dedicated room attendants sanitize and wash the sheets after each guest and rooms are inspected by our Executive Housekeeper daily! The room attendant who was assigned to clean your room has been with the hotel for over 6 years and she is very oriented in paying attention to detail. Although she confirmed that the sheets were clean when the bed was made, our reaction was “Guest is always right” and a 100% refund was made to you as per our hospitality promise. I do appreciate your initiative to take the time to write this review 4 months past your stay. Again, I am joined by my entire staff to thank you for your business! Safe travels.
Best Regards,
Christy Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I started my search for a hotel in that area during June, the reviews were pretty bad for this hotel. But, since the hotel is located in the perfect location I went ahead and made reservations for September, hoping a couple of disgruntled reviewers just needed an axe to grind. Upon check-in, I was totally surprised by the friendly staff. I found the room spacious, clean and totally adequate. All the smoking rooms are located on one floor,keeping the odor away from the other guests. I don't smoke, but the spouse does. The hallway had the smoke smell but the room did not. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Red light camera at Gum Rd. and Portsmouth Blvd. Beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ronald P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay with us! We are so greatful that you decided to come stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Chesapeake. I'm proud we could meet your expectations. We strive to go above & beyond for each of our guest's stay. We look forward to having you again soon. Safe travels!
Sincerley,
Christy Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the first floor, king suite. Rooms were a bit snug, but overall, more than acceptable. Furnishings are typical of this grade of hotel.

Staff was always pleasant, and even outgoing -- I don't think we ever walked past the front desk without the clerk calling out a greeting to us!

DH used the indoor pool, and said it was clean, and well maintained.

Complimentary breakfast seemed to have a broad array of options, but when we were there, it seemed crowded, confused, people were kinda pushy and rude trying to get to the food, and indeed, many items were depleted. Not sure if this is typical, or was just that weekend. Maybe a longer breakfast service would alleviate the crowding?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,On
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013


Check inn was easy. Room was clean. Later that night we asked for 2 extra towels and was told by Drew at the front desk to come down and get it. She's the only one at the desk and can't leave. The attitude was abrupt and rude.

Breakfast was the usual adequate fare of western omelettes, boiled eggs, cereal, biscuits and gravy, muffins , cinnamon buns, juice etc.pancake maker was broken.No microwave to warm up boiled eggs or warm milk for your cereal . Morning front desk staff friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and enjoyable.

If you are on an extended stay and have to use the Washing machine, the old top loader eviscerates ones clothes.
Overall a very enjoyable stay

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank elcycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear elcycad,

Thank you for your review of our property. It is delightful to know that you had a smooth check in experience and the breakfast served was adequate for your needs. However, I apologize that the reception staff's service was a disappointment. We take all feedback seriously and your review will help us improve on our efforts.

Hopefully, the next time you are in the area we get the opportunity to host you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
11.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Address: 2436 Gum Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insura ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing