We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff was extremely responsive and friendly. We had a rather confusing reservation, but Christy Morgan the general manager, was helpful and quickly helped me correct the errors that I made. Overall our stay was great and we definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

The rooms were very clean and had alot of space.The breakfast was great, food was hot and fresh my kids loved it.We also enjoyed the fitness center,pool and hot tub.The only problems i had was my room not beibg pay for because i booked online.Lakiesha i ant to thank you for solving this problem for us.If you book your hotel online by hotels.com, orbit, expedia,or any of the sites i have not mentioned you stand the chance of going through what i went through.You are better off calling the hotel and paying your fees directly to the hotel and not third party.Believe me you'll thank me later.

Room Tip: Go back to booking with the hotel and not online orbit,expedia,or hotels .com. Just call the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have to admit I was a bit annoyed when I arrived at 2:45p for 3pm check in and was informed that there were no rooms available. It would have been ok but I had somewhere to go.....not really their fault but annoying.
The king suite the room was HUGE. There was a mysterious brown stain on the white comforter. We told the front desk.....nothing happened. We didn't use the pool but we smelled it from everywhere on the first floor. The breakfast was good and the front desk staff were friendly.

There is nothing in walking distance but there's a 711 and mall in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandicewithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice stay. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Only hitch, no luggage carts upon check-in. Requested a 1st floor room. Understand honoring requests isn't always possible but carrying luggage up to 2nd floor without a cart wasn't fun after driving all day to get here.

Girl's softball tourney must have been in the area with all of the screaming kids running around. Fortunately, they quieted down by 10PM.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay! Rooms were spacious and clean! The breakfast was much more than we expected! A great choice to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night on April 3, 2012. We were very surprised at the size of our room, it had a living room on one end and our king sized bed on the other. It was very clean and comfortable. We thought the pool and hot tub was warm and inviting even though we didn't have the opportunity to use it. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding, probably one of the best we have experienced in any other hotel we have stayed in. It had everything an all you can eat breakfast in restaurant would have and in a very comfortable setting. We would definatly stay here again if we are ever back in this area.

Room Tip: We got the king sized non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was just off the freeway, but back far enough away from the street noise. Dining and shopping was just down the street. The beds were comfy. We couldn't hear noise from the other guests. The pool was small but the breakfast was good. It was your typical continental breakfast, but the staff was very friendly. If we come back to the area, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glutenfreeutahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
11 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake
11.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Address: 2436 Gum Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range: $87 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insura ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing