We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover for OBX!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stopover for OBX!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Every year our family stops in Chesapeake, Virginia on our way to the Outer Banks. Chesapeake is a convenient location to spend the night prior to our Saturday rental at OBX. After using several hotel properties over the years, it was time for a change and it was more complicated with travelling on the 4th of July. Previous hotels wanted a minimum of 2 nights and refused our 1 night business. I discovered the Hilton Garden-Greenbrier which was accommodating to the 1 night stay. My experience from reservation to checkout was outstanding! Not only was it a convenient location, the service was super. We were greeted at check-in and they placed our family (3 rooms) on the same floor and next to each other, without even requesting. The hotel and rooms were very clean and modern. The staff made dinner recommendations in the immediate area, and knew which were open on the holiday. Checkout was the same, very personalable and friendly. Only downside, there was not complimentary breakfast, just free coffee. We will certainly make this property our annual stop on the way to OBX!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    119
    58
    29
    37
See reviews for
158
80
34
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everything was so comfy. Especially being a hhonors member I was able to get free convenience store snacks--which actually saved me a trip to the local store. Only complaint was that breakfast is not complimentary--which would be fine except this makes for confusion and you can't eat on the go. Otherwise so clean, so quiet, so comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a "home away from home". Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast, so that we may make the necessary steps to improve. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasing lobby and very pleasant staff. Shout out to Shamar (Dining area) and to Sharon (front desk).

Location is convenient to Rt 64 and to many stores and restaurants.

Hotel features a pleasant dining area with a nice menu and a small bar with three stools. Dinner menus prices are competitive. Breakfast buffet offers the usual selections and is a bit overpriced at $10.95.

Only complaints:
1. Rooms feature king beds with adjustable firmness.
We had two rooms. Neither beds' feature worked. One of the controls was actually hanging out of its mattress housing.

2. Toilet tissue is air thin and rough. In other words: super cheap! Hilton, spend a few bucks more, charge me a buck more per night and do your guests' butts a big favor!! :-/

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I truly appreciate your frank and honest feedback, as it is the first step in improving our service and quality. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and the service they provided you. We hope to serve you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Choose this property for the location, close to everything and where I needed to be in the area.

First and foremost, Hilton is trying to monetize their "FREE" internet by slowing down the old internet and trying to charge for "premium" service. The "FREE" in this hotel was the slowest internet I've had in a hotel in at least 5 years. It was terrible and made it difficult to get work done.

For some reason Hilton doesn't wave the fee for their upper tear loyalty members. Marriott does.
So "FREE" internet is slow, and they want customers like me who stay 60+ nights to pay for decent internet.

Otherwise the property is an older HGI, a bit worn, and it shows in some areas.

The staff was excellent, very nice and helpful.

Hilton needs to address the "FREE" internet issue and soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank your for your feedback regarding your stay. The Hilton Garden Inn brand has provided complimentary wi-fi to it's guests since 2004. Recently we have added a "premium" wi-fi option for a fee of $4.95 per day for guests needing to download large files, videos, etc. Although providing this "premium" offering is not currently a benefit for our Hilton Honors members, and as a guest your opinion is always important to us, so your suggestion has been passed on to the Hilton Garden Inn brand team. I am glad you enjoyed our service during your stay, and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Staff was great, room very average (wear & tear issues), bed was damaged but room was quickly changed when the front desk was advised. Check-out was an issue due to billing problems. Could not be corrected at front desk but resolved several days after our departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please contact me at the hotel so that I may address your concerns personally. We appreciate any and all feedback, as it serves to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel while in the area with friends. The hotel was clean and quiet. Check in was quick and staff friendly. There are a lot of places to shop and eat at near the hotel, some you can walk to like Joes Crab Shack and Cracker Barrel. We would stay here again when in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank virginiard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for positive feedback! Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angelos
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The room was nice, quiet and clean. The restaraunt breakfast buffet was weak, no bacon, turkey sausage floating in a pot of water, limited fruit, just not up to the standard I have experienced at this and other Hiltons in the past.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank michaelhopper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am truly sorry that the breakfast buffet was not up to your standards. Your comments are the first step in helping us improve our quality and service. Please contact me at the hotel so that I may address this issue with you personally. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#7 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Address: 1565 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-8932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#16 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier is located in the Greenbrier Business Park and is minutes from Greenbrier Mall. Enjoy the patented complimentary high-speed internet access and flat-screen TV with cable channels in every guest room. Our on-site restaurant, the Garden Grill, is open for breakfast and dinner, plus offers in-room dining service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Hilton Chesapeake
Chesapeake Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing