We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, and comfortable”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I traveled to Chesapeake on a business trip a couple of weeks ago and was pretty satisfied with my stay at the HGI. The room was clean, the king sized bed was comfortable despite my being too tired to figure out the adjustable mattress, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The location is central to a number of restaurants and I was told (but didn't venture out to find it) that there was a mall and theater close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningAmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    119
    58
    29
    37
See reviews for
158
80
34
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice hotel. Clean quiet rooms nice decor and friendly staff. Convenient location good restaurant but only had breakfast. One thing that I still wrestle with at all HGI's is the restaurant. It's not full service but it's not self service. I ordered pretty much my standard breakfast of 2 eggs sausage and toast the wonderful waitress took my order but then said I could help myself to the toast. So now both of s are hiking across the restaurant together to place my order. This isn't unique to this location but I'm still scratching my head on what HGI is thinking going to market this way. Either have full service or self service I don't mind either just decide this way is like being half pregnant


I'm sorry to tie this to this location as it should go to HGI corp


CW

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nice hotel, clean decent room, restaurant was OK (only had breakfast there). Close to VA Beach-about 12 miles away. Microwave & fridge in room. Only complaint was that I used the microwave the first night of a three-night stay and it never got cleaned. Greatly affected my housekeeping tip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I've only recently "discovered" Hilton Garden Inns. Been loyal to Hampton Inn for years (if a Ritz Carlton Club level isn't available or needed) and I still like 'em on business but, can't beat either one.
As my wife has accompanied me on the last few business trips, the amenities and access to local stuff (shopping whatever) are just a bit more important.
The room was quiet, clean and fresh and had nice bedding.

Only Garden objection, having to pay for breakfast. I wish there was a free buffet (or, at least, free continental) breakfast available. I need something minimal in the morning but, need a $10. breakfast - even though it's nicely prepared. BTW: I made my mild objection known to the Deskman (Nutori) and he very kindly "Comped" me. Nice to see the company allows people to make decisions at their level. Good for Hilton!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff was, as I expect at HGI, excellent ! Disappointed to find the room ( 317 ) we'd been assigned had two of the softest ( tired) mattresses we've ever encountered. My mistake, I assumed all the HGI rooms had the adjustable sleep system. A very understanding front desk clerk told me this particular hotel only featured the adjustable system in rooms with a king size bed and unfortunately, the hotel was full. He offered to move us the next day to a suitable room which we did and all was well. Room 304

Room Tip: Ask the question, does this room feature an adjustable firmness mattress?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walteremattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Typical Hilton Garden Inn, which means a medium size building with full service to include a restaurant. The restaurant is located within the hotel lobby separated by furniture and knee walls. This Garden Inn is right next to a shopping and at an interstate exit. I’ve stayed at a dozen Garden Inns. The Inn as typical for Garden Inns was clean and comfortable and the location made me feel safe. The outstanding feature of this Inn was the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dos7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Had a great stay at this wonderful hotel the week of 4/23. Modern hotel with good size and clean rooms. Chesapeake is a perfect location if you have to commute to Norfolk.

First off there are TONS of restaurants, probably a half dozen you can walk to as well as a movie theater across the parking lot. If you drive there must be 40+ places to eat within 15 minutes. Also, this is one of the few areas you don't driver through any tunnels or bridges to get to downtown Norfolk, so the commute is no more than 20 minutes.

Hotel boasts a wonderful breakfast, friendly employees and usually a great price. Strongly recommend for a business traveler as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClashJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#7 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Address: 1565 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-8932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#16 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier is located in the Greenbrier Business Park and is minutes from Greenbrier Mall. Enjoy the patented complimentary high-speed internet access and flat-screen TV with cable channels in every guest room. Our on-site restaurant, the Garden Grill, is open for breakfast and dinner, plus offers in-room dining service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Hilton Chesapeake
Chesapeake Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing