We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They offered me a snack”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
1 review
“They offered me a snack”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

So.... I couldn't get into my favorite hotel this trip and I needed a back up plan. I finally found this hotel around 10 pm after driving 8+ hours. When I arrived at the front desk a very nice gentleman asked me "Would you like a snack?" I was so surprised I had him to repeat himself. I thought to myself, how pleasant to receive this gift. Though only a small bag of popcorn, the gesture was unexpected and greatly appreciated. That small attention to detail really made my stay memorable. Thank you Extended Stay staff for your customer service.

Room Tip: i personally liked the first floor for easy entry and exiting w/out waiting on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameenah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I really appreciate your comments regarding the popcorn you received upon arrival. Customer service is a top priority of ours, so I am happy to hear that we met this goal. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our entire team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    11
    4
    17
See reviews for
19
6
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

They are true to their motto as a home away from home, even down to the cooking recipes for stove top and microwave. The location is centered around "everything" :) But Hey Scrappy334 - I didn't get any free popcorn! But it's all good, I had my own microwavable popcorn!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeofGoodCourage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations by providing a"home away from home"! I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the Away From Home Cooking book, but are truly apologetic that you did not get your free popcorn.

I hope that you will stay with us again because we owe you two bags of popcorn now!!! In short, we love to offer these amenities to our guests and again thank you for your time and Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I come here all the time and I just love the service that they have to offer it's a wonderful experience and the free popcorn is defiantly a plus that's why I will continue to come to the extended stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience with Extended Stay America/Churchland. I'm delighted to here that you stay with us frequently and enjoy the items we offer from our short term amenities basket, your choice being the popcorn!!!

Again thank you for you review and we look forward to you lodging with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I arrived on Saturday night and the hotel parking lot and foyer area were free of crackheads, no rowdy parties which usually are a warning sign. The main lobby was clean and the front desk auditor, whose name was Kenya was very helpful and cheerful. She had a great attitude.... I checked in very quickly and proceeded to the third floor, my room was the closest one to the elevator which was nice. Once inside I realized for the money that this place was awesome, a place for everything and everything in its place ! Four pillows on the bed, flat screen and WiFi, nice shower and small efficient kitchen area. It had everything I needed, I couldn't have asked for more !

Room Tip: I asked for one on the third floor to be far away from the travel noise on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehstrybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay. I greatly appreciate your comments regarding Kenya and the overall service you received from our staff. As well, it is great to know that you liked your room and the amenities we had to offer.

Thank you again for your kind comments. We look forward to you lodging with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

the Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and the hotel was clean and neat. DeWane the maintenance Engineer provides outstanding service!!!! Enjoyed the grab and go breakfast.Close to the bases here also. Close proximity to the Naval and Coast Guard basases as well as to the areas tourist attraction.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbringntheheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast as well as the level of cleanliness in your room. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay while lodging at our hotel. Also, thank you for your comments regarding Dewayne.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to you staying with us again, should your travel needs bring to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been visiting Portsmouth VA once or twice a year for about 6 years now, and I've always enjoyed my stay at Extended Stay.America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd. I've stayed here almost every time (sometimes a friend offers hospitality).

The place is clean and quiet, well kept up (except sometimes the trash bin outside the front door overflows.

The kitchen has a microwave, refrigerator, sink and stovetop (no conventional oven). Dishes and tableware for two are provided, as well as basic cooking equipment. There are several supermarkets and fast-food restaurants nearby

The front desk folks have always been cheerfully helpful.

Room Tip: I like the first floor, since I have some physical challenges. My rooms usually face the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, September 6, 2013
As always, I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to having you at the Churchland property once or twice a year. It is great to know that you were satisfied with the services we provided and willing to give feedback so that we can improve as needed.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. I will make sure the staff keep a closer eye on the trash can located in the front entrance. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel information need updates. The website points to indoor pool in this hotel which was a strong factor to consider it when I made my reservation. I was disappointed when I discovered there was no pool in the hotel, and the information was incorrect. I showed a staff member what is on the website about the pool, and I asked them to remove this incorrect information.
Staff were friendly in general. Special thanks to Duane.

Rooms were OK, after I changed them with staff help.
Breakfast items need improvement.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Aref A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd., responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that the information about the pool posted on the website was incorrect. I know that is one the reasons you choose our location. As this Hotel's Manager, I can assure you that I have looked into this matter and corrections will be made. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We continually work to improve our hotel, so again I really appreciate you providing us with feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at ccb@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at out hotel the next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
11.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Crossways Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#30 of 42 in Chesapeake
73 reviews
10.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
3.3 mi away
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
10.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Chesapeake-Norfolk Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.
Address: 3214 Churchland Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Extended Stay, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd Hotel Chesapeake
Extended Stay Chesapeake
Chesapeake Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing