We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Studios 4 Less

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studios 4 Less
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Virginia Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent 10 day in June 2009 in the Virginia/North Carolina area. We stayed at the Marriott Townplace Suites in Chesapeake, VA. Since there were three adults we needed a suite with two bedrooms, so this place was ideal. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was gracious and most helpful. During our stay in the area we visited many places including Nags Head, Norfolk, Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Richmond. Jamestown, however, was by far our favorite. We had the most fun there and plan to return again one day.

Helpful?
Thank TexasGranny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
We appreciate your feedback. Our staff strives to be the best TownePlace Suites by Marriott in the brand. Our goal is to provide a room that is clean and comfortable that reflects the highest quality standards in addition to the most excellent service.

Again, thank you for your wonderful comments! We hope you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to the Virginia/North Carolina area.

D. Muff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montverde, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I cannot express how terrible this motel experience was. I called for directions as we were driving in. The phone rang and rang with no answer. I called back and got the recording and then disconnected. Upon check in with our infant and toddler, I was told that the crib I had "reserved" for our infant to sleep in was not available. (even though it was reserved, I was told cribs were first come, first serve!) Our room was dirty to the point of finding dog feces on the floor. The corner of the sofa had major damage (at first I thought it was wear, but it was evidently chewed by the same dog). The shower had a large crack in it and mold (my husband even commented about the mold). One of the beds was directly under the stairwell for the building. There was loud stomping until well after midnight and it resumed around 5AM. It sounded like bowling balls being dropped above my head. The next day, the breakfast bar was not available at all. We were told that the delivery truck failed to arrive at 5AM that morning. We were told we could take whatever we wanted from the remaining items (I told the last bottled water and a bag of cookies). You would think that Marriott would allow the management to run to a local store and buy some basic items at 5:30 AM when the truck didn't arrive, rather than offering nothing. The manager assured us he would address the issue of the dirty room with housekeeping, and we were offered a discount on the room price. Marriott sent me an e-mail survey about my stay, and I replied with the above info, but never heard back. Major service failure in my book. I would never, ever stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you for bringing to our attention your dissatisfaction with our TownePlace Suites by Marriott hotel. Your feedback is incredibly important to us.

I want to personally apologize for all the problems you and your family experienced during your stay. Your comments have been discussed with our management staff and actions were taken so this does not happen again.

Our entire staff is working tirelessly to make improvements in our service, quality, and cleanliness of our hotel. Although we failed you once, we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can do better. I can assure you that your next stay with TownePlace Suites will be a more satisfying experience!

Hospitably,

D. Muff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at TownePlace Suites, while visiting colleges in Virginia, with 17-yr old daughter. The first impression was a good one, with the staff members offering a smile and a friendly greeeting as soon as we walked in the door. It also didn't hurt that, after inquiring as to whether there were any Studio suites with 2 beds, they arranged to give us a complimentary upgrade to a 2-BR suite. This made for a much more comfortable visit.

As the Marriott website indicates, the TownePlace Suites is closer to a condiminium than a typical hotel room. Each room has a Kitchen/Cooking area, and a Sitting area, in addition to the sleeping accomodations. Am not able to quite agree with the previous poster who described it as "New and Modern". It does not appear to be brand-new, by any means, but the grounds seem to be well-maintained, and everything in the room appeared to be clean and functional. It is not a problem for us, if an establishment is a few years old, so long as it has been well kept-up, with proper maintenance and cleaning, and the TownePlace Suites certainly met this criteria.

The room was a non-smoking (as is the entire complex) and there was no trace ot smells or smoke, so all of the previous guests appear to have been civilized folks, who didn't pollute the furnishings. The establishment is far enough the main highway, so as to be reasonably quiet at most times.

Overall, we were please with the courtesy and friendliness of the staff, and with the overall experience, and would recommend the Towneplace Suites to anyone else. A good value for the price.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LV_Funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
We really do appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our TownePlace Suites by Marriott hotel! We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your home away from home while you were visiting colleges in Virginia. We hope that you choose to stay with us again if you return to the Hampton Roads area.

Again, thank you for the amazing feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

D. Muff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

The suites are nice as the layout of bedroom, sitting area and kitchen is great for long or short stay. The hotel is new and modern and has a lovely pool and good fitness room. We had a room with an adjoining door, unfortunately our neighbour was hard of hearing so we could hear his tv over our own, the staff were very helpful and we changed to another quieter room. This is the first time we've stayed at a TownePlace Suites without a free grab and go breakfast being available, which was disappointing as hotel was otherwise so nice. The is a Courtyard by Marriott next door where you could purchase breakfast if required. The location was good right next to the interstate towards Virginia Beach and the toll bridge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable. We have added a variety of new items to our grab and go breakfast. We will continue to work hard to make improvements to our hotel.

We hope to see you back again soon! I am confident that your next stay with us will be a wonderful experience.

D. Muff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Every staff ember I encountered was very welcoming and friendly, however our room was really grungy. The room smelled, the couch had stains on it, and there was lipstick on one of the glasses in the cabinet.

I do see that management is reading these reviews and that is a great sign that this hotel might improve.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyelove2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites. It is only with the valuable feedback from our guests that we can make improvements at our hotels, so we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate the positive comments regarding our friendly and welcoming staff. I want to personally apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the cleanliness and condition of your room. We are conscientiously working to improve the cleanliness and quality of our hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

D. Muff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

The hotel is in a nice location and is an ok place to stay.

The free breakfast could have been better as it was just a bunch of muffins and some juice. The pull out sofa-sleeper lacked bedding and I had to call the front desk. We only paid $99/night with a AAA discount so I can't complain.

Overall, I would probably stay here again if in the area, but I would first do further research to see what other hotels are around.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cohusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, October 16, 2008
I appreciate your feedback. We at the TownePlace Suites Cheapeake are striving to be the best in the brand. We value your comments, and we are deligently working on improving our service, cleanliness, and accomodations to better meet the needs of our guest. We are glad that you said we are an ok hotel because of price, but we want you to LOVE our hotel because of the service.

We hope to see you again soon, to show you that we can do it even better!

C Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

I am a Marriott Platinum Member and rarely stay in Towne Place Suites (brand). I must say it was very nice. The room was wonderful and the staff was great. Would definately reccomend for anyone staying for a long period of time!

  • Liked — Quiet area.
  • Disliked — Needs a bigger pool =)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valeriemessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTPS, General Manager at Studios 4 Less, responded to this review, October 16, 2008
Thank you very much for the great feedback! We hope to see you back again soon! We are a great hotel with great associates. We like to hear the things that we need improving on, but we love hearing when we get it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Greenbrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake
#18 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk / Chesapeake (Greenbrier Area)
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chesapeake-Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios 4 Less? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios 4 Less

Property: Studios 4 Less
Address: 2000 Old Greenbrier Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2618 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Chesapeake)
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios 4 Less 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Studios 4 Less reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing