We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is making needless copies of credit cards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
“Hotel is making needless copies of credit cards”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Notified Comfort Inn Corporate 2 times to let them know this was going on, no response yet (over 2 weeks) so I am trying to warn others. When I checked in they charged my credit card (no problems) and then they then went into the corner and made a copy of my credit card in one of the older type credit card machines, the kind that has a carbon. When I pressed them for info they said "It's fine, it is for our records." I told them that it was not fine, my credit card was already charged via their computer system and they had my personal information on their forms and that I do not authorize them to maintain a soft and hard copy of my credit card. They gave me the hard copy of my credit card. The hotel was fine but there is no reason to have my credit card in their computer and a separate physical copy in a file. I would have gone back (I go into the area once a month) and insist they not copy my CC but the lack of response from their corp' is disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfortinnandsuitesc, Webmaster at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and really worry how the mess could happen.

Nevertheless, our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences about the stay.

We have taken corrective measures to avoid such incidences in future which you can check and confirm.

Please do consider visiting the Comfort Inn again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    18
    19
    18
See reviews for
69
23
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Left camera/camcorder behind. Son called Jennifer and she told him to wait until someone turned it in. He told her exactly where it was in the room, but she kept insisting he needed to wait until housekeeping cleaned the rooms and see if they turned it in. What??? Why not secure item BEFORE you allow others an opportunity to take it?? Well she searched the wrong room, then said she would search the right room but that it now has a family occupying it. Later, Jennifer story changed and she said the room has not yet been occupied, but housekeeping has cleaned the [right] room and no camera/camcorder. BIG SURPRISE!! Asked from the beginning for Manager Matt Diamond to contact me. Five hours later still nothing and Jennifer refuses to provide information regarding who cleaned the room. Filed a police report. Called Matt Diamond and waited until he answered call; very agrumentative: Diamond "I searched the room and there was no camcorder" Reply; "yes, but you searched the wrong room." Diamond; 'well, you gave us the wrong room number!" Reply: "no we didn't, but besides, you have the hotel guest information on you computers, didn't you look at that to verify?" Diamond:" I have been on the floor the entire time with my staff, not once have they left, if you just shut up and get off the phone and call the police, they can talk to my employees while they are still here." Reply: "really, they have not left the premises for lunch or break and you have watched them ALL the entire time?" Hmmm sounds like there is either a wage and hour violation OR Diamond isn't being so truthful. . . . . Plus, hotel charged us daily for a security box that we never requested, they never told us about, and they certainly never gave us the code information--only found out about it at check out. On another note, we were present when a female traveler arrived with her small dog and asked to view a room before booking it. Front desk gave her key and when she returned, she declined the room because she said it was filthy. Matt Diamond notified her he was charging $25 to her credit card because she took her dog with her to view the room. She told Diamond that she would not authorize the charge and he said it didn't matter, he was doing it anyways. Note to Corporate Comfort Inn: you might want to consider another Manager who is not so caustic to your customers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InTheBizLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfortinnandsuitesc, Webmaster at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for being at the ABVI St.Joseph and the review..

We have never received a similar complaint before, but regret your bad experience.

We have handled the issue with Matt Diamond.

The hotel staff has been fully trained and you will have a new experience next time.

We would request you to once again stay with us and get convinced.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is one my best hotels i've been too, its so modern and update and the pool is so unbelievable.
Flat screen tv's in each room what more could you want, GREAT service and loads of activities for the young ones aswell
to sum it up Best holiday EVER!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-man20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 42 in Chesapeake
233 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
7.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#30 of 42 in Chesapeake
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 3355 S Military Hwy, Chesapeake, VA 23323-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides easy access to many area attractions and is just a short drive from downtown Chesapeake and the neighboring towns of Norfolk and Portsmouth. Located in southeastern Virginia, Chesapeake is a diverse area that offers a number of things to see and do. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy exploring the nearby Great Dismal Swamp that houses a variety of wildlife and a unique ecosystem that is indigenous to this coastal plain. Many entertainment venues, restaurants and retailers can be found close to the hotel; some are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing