We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed with my family in two rooms (1 suite, 1 regular room) for four nights at this location last week. The suite was large and spacious and had plenty of room. The rooms were clean with the exception of the couch and chairs in the suite, which had multiple large stains on the furniture. The daily hot breakfast was great and convenient. The housekeeping attendants were very friendly, polite, and helpful. One thing we noticed each night was that the hallways are a bit noisy...the doors slam shut as you exit unless you are careful when exiting the rooms. You can sometimes hear guests in the next room (such as people who snore loudly). Most of the time, the noise was not a problem. However, on our last night, a group of 4-5 people checked into the room next door and were extremely loud and slammed the door constantly and repeatedly. We contacted the front desk 4 times due to the level of noise in an effort to restore order to the floor where many guests were attempting to rest. One member of my party who was in another room down the hall actually went down to the front desk to address the issue with the manager on duty. The noise finally let up a bit around midnight, but started again around 7 a.m. the next morning and did not stop until we checked out. I was disappointed in how this situation was handled and that the noise was not stopped. At a minimum, this hotel needs to address the issue with all the room doors slamming shut when you exit. Some type of device to minimize the slam needs to be installed on every door.

Room Tip: Get a room on the end of the hall so your room will only have to share an inner wall with 1 room (to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I’m very sorry you experienced noise issues. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant experience, but unfortunately, we cannot control the behavior of others. We take noise complaints seriously and I will definitely follow up with our desk team. Typically more than 2 calls regarding noise from a room will result in our asking the offending room to leave. For the safety and security of our guests, the guest room doors must “self close and latch” from a certain angle. As we work through the first quarter of next year completing our preventative maintenance, I will make sure to add checking the door check to the list. Our cleanliness scores typically rank in the “outstanding” category on our guest surveys and Trip Advisor comments, so I was surprised to hear of visible stains. I have asked our Housekeeping team to be timelier in reporting any stains. Thank you for your comments. We welcome all opportunities to improve the quality of service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    146
    56
    17
    15
See reviews for
267
94
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nichols,Ia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have traveled a lot of different places and I would say this is the best hotel that I have stayed in. We also had our 92 yr old mother and everything was easy for her to use. The hotel was very clean and everyone was so friendly. The hot breakfast was very good and I'm sure there was always something for every diet and taste. If we get back in that area you can bet we will be staying here again.
Thanks to the staff!!

Room Tip: We had 4 staying for 6 days so the suite was right for us. It was less expensive than a lot of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your comments with others! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our team works hard to ensure every guest has the very best possible stay and we love to hear when we succeed in our goal. Our On The House Breakfast is a great way to start the day. Hampton is reviewing some changes/additions to the menu offering so we welcome you back to Hampton in the future to see what’s new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Clean, quiet, pet friendly, hot breakfast, convenient location. No view. Who cares? Suite with a king bed -- $89.00 with a senior discount. Pleased as punch with our choice. Great place to stay, especially if you need to bring a pet -- saved us a bundle on kennel fees!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GordonsvilleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear that guests return time and time again because of our service. We are rolling out a new pet program that will have more area information and are installing a special pet station out back to make it more convenient for pet owners to take their dog outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times and have been extremely please every time. The rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. The room rate was very reasonable and the breakfast was great! Next time we are in this area, we are sure to stay here again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel! We love to have return guests and appreciate hearing that each visit is as good as the last. Our hotel team works hard to ensure every visit affords our guests the very best in service, cleanliness and guest satisfaction. Our scores consistently rank above the Hampton Inn Brand average in these areas and I appreciate hearing from all of our guests to make sure we are always on top on things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not only was this hotel clean and friendly, but also the rooms were spacious and well-appointed. . Our room had a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee pot all for a very affordable price. The free breakfast was good, and the staff kept it well-supplied and clean. We will definitely stay here again on our trips south!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceceil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I’m very pleased to hear that your experience in our hotel exceeded your expectations. Our team works hard to provide the best in service and accommodations and it is great to hear your stay was no exception. I will pass your comments on to the entire team. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My room was clean and spacious. The bed was soft and comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The free wireless was good. The breakfast was a little lacking, but adequate. I would stay here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GburgfoodieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you didn’t find our breakfast quite up to par. The Breakfast Attendants strive to make sure everything is clean and well stocked, and I apologize if you caught us not at our best. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Hampton Inn & Suites is a great hotel. It is nicely furnished and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is near several restaurants and quite a several shopping malls. There were numerous breakfast items and all were tasty and fresh. Plus, it was a great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We always appreciate hearing about the experiences of our guests. Our team works hard to deliver the very best in service and accommodations, and I’m pleased you found everything exceptional. Our location is prime for easy access to major interstates and we are nearby several great restaurants, some even within walking distance. Coming this fall, we will begin to offer a Shop and Drop package, so check our website for a discounted stay that will also include a gift certificate to the nearby shopping mall. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 42 in Chesapeake
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#5 of 42 in Chesapeake
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk / Chesapeake (Greenbrier Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
Address: 1421 Battlefield Blvd N, Chesapeake, VA 23320-4505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#8 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. Hotel Chesapeake
Hampton Inn And Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing