We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, not overly fancy but upgrading.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Close to Philly, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Reasonable, not overly fancy but upgrading.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We always stay here when we visit our son in Virginia Beach - 5-7 times per year! Close to a large mall and other shopping. Close to good restaurants - Abuelos! Crab Shack! Paradocks! Cracker Barrel! To name just a few. They are currently undergoing construction and the new rooms look great. On a lightly traveled street, but with easy access to Rt 64.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyParents2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
HappyParents2013,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    51
    21
    18
    4
See reviews for
92
35
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carneys Point, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location: Great location right off the highway in a very well stocked area of retail stores. There are many other ‘big name ‘ hotels in the same complex.

Appearance: Clean and well kept. Hotel is just about done renovation. I stayed here in July and things are much nicer today.

Counter Service: Very friendly and quick. No problem.

General Up-Keep: The newly renovated sections are very well kept. Other areas show some wear, but not excessive.

Workout room: Did not use. But did go running at park about 3 mi away that is a 1.5 mi loop around a lake. Oak Grove Lake Park- At night lots of runners, walkers and dog walkers. In the early morning, lots of trail runners.

Room: My room was newly renovated and everything seemed to be in great shape. I loved the walk-in shower! I wish more hotels went to these, so much more room and showerheads tend to be higher.

Overall Report: Because of this location I have added Chesapeake, VA to my upper list when staying in the Virginia Beach area. I have stayed down by the beach and find those hotels to be worn from all the tourist. This location has plenty to do in the area (BTW, a movie theater across the street) and all tyoes of places to eat. Traffic can be bad during rush hr, but you don’t have to go far. I just wish places like Comfort Suites would change their breakfast offerings for healthier lifestyle traveler. I had to go out to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard9i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Richard,
Thank you so much for your review of your recent experience here at Comfort Suites Chesapeake. We aim to please, and I am glad we did so with you.Sounds like you enjoyed most of our amenities. Glad the glass shower was a hit for you. We hope to see you again soon, if you find yourself in the Chesapeake area. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time -- our whole family could enjoy the time together.
Thanks for the lovely poolside get-away.
Even more comforts than home!
Love the breakfast, newly-remodeled rooms, and terrific service.

We'll stay again when we are in town.

Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: The suites have so much space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Donna,
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day and posting a comment about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. We work really hard to make all of our guest stay memorable. So glad you were able to get some nice weather to be poolside in September! Thank you again for choosing Comfort Suites Chesapeake for your lodging needs. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It has been several months since I stayed here last and at that time they were remodeling the rooms in the back. Well, last week I was there in one of the newly remodeled rooms and it was very nice indeed. Walk in shower with glass doors and of course everything new. And if that was not enough the staff was very helpful. Stay here in Chesapeake and you will not disappointed. Great staff, great rooms and everything I needed. Location is great also with everything right around for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a remodeled room They will be doing the rest of the rooms during this off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCarraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Bill,
We were glad to see you back at the Comfort Suites Chesapeake. We are very proud of our renovations. We will be very happy once the rest of the rooms are completed late this fall. We think our new glass showers are a nice new feature and looks like you did too. All of the staff here strive to make all guest feel like they are at a home away from home. We hope we have the opportunity to take care of your lodging needs again soon. Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am a veteran returning from Afghanistan and searching for a small family vacation in the eastern shore area. I found that this Comfort Suites not only was right next to a Joe's Crab Shack for my wife (her favorite diner), but about 10 miles from VA Beach (for the kids ALL DAY!). Needless to say, we all had a fabulous time. The hotel even made it optional to have two joining rooms so that my family could stretch out. Topped with a military discount, I will make sure to tell all of my friends about this!

Room Tip: The connecting room are larger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Christopher,

First and foremost THANK YOU for serving our country and taking time away from your family to protect us. So glad that you were able to getaway with your family and have a great time here at the Comfort Suites Chesapeake. You had great weather to be out at VA Beach Oceanfront. Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you come back to see us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location and is close to good restaurants and a shopping mall. The hotel is easily accessible to the interstate. The hotel staff were professional, courteous and very helpful. Room was on the first floor and was quiet. Hot and cold breakfast in the breakfast room was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Wayne,

We at the Comfort Suites Chesapeake want to thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs as a business traveler. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Glad you had a pleasurable experience with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over for a night (09/01/2013). The front desk employees were very friendly and nice. The room was very good (surpassed our expectations!). The breakfast was good as well (waffles (flavored and non flavored), danish, donuts, muffin, yogurt, egg (boiled and omelette),sausage patty, bagels, bread, cereal, fruit, grit, oats, juice, tea/coffee. The only issue we had was with the wafflemaker, a non stick spray would have been good. This isn't just our opinion, but mostly everyone who we ran into in the breakfast area had the same comment. The employee in charge of the breakfast area was very efficient, she made sure everything was stocked in a timely manner. She also helped the guests find places to sit and eat. Overall, it was worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeHappy0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda W, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you had problems with the waffle machine. We have addressed that issue with our vendor and they have advised us to only spray once a day even in heavy use. Not sure why but I will reach out again and let him know we are still having issues with them sticking. We hope we to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.3 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#5 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1550 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#9 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chesapeake
Comfort Suites Chesapeake
Chesapeake Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing