We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Handy and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night en route back to Washington after a week dodging Hurricane Sandy. It was fine - we had a room on the top floor at the far end of the building. It was a comfortable large room with an LCD TV and sofa, and a welcome bottle of water and snack. Oddly, the open folder told us nothing about the hotel which would have been useful. It's s short drive down to the Volvo Parkway off which there is a Golden Corral to the south or a China buffet to the north - we ate at the latter and it was one of the better ones. The hotel is only a few yards from I-64 but we honestly didn't hear a sound. The only noise came from the fridge which sounded like a power drill so we had to unplug that. Breakfast is the usual array of cereals, breads, scrambled eggs and so on - nothing special but perfectly serviceable. The pool is outdoor and was closed when we were there. No complaints - it wasn't a record-breaking 'stay of the century' but it was extremely comfortable, quiet and convenient and absolutely did the job for around $80 all in. In the morning we were back on I-64 in seconds and heading north for our flight home to London having had a very good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was on the south end of the motel - perhaps that was why it was so quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time out to share your feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you experienced a peaceful environment and we have notified our engineering department about your concerns with the a/c unit. We hope that if you are ever in the area again you stop by and give us the opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    20
    18
    4
See reviews for
92
33
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The best hotel we have stayed in! The front staff was so helpful and accommodating. Our room had a bag of pretzels and a water bottle with a "Welcome to our hotel" and our name sign on it. The hotel was spotless, the beds very comfortable, and the continental breakfast was out of this world! I've never seen so much food at a hotel breakfast before. Quite the place--I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We do strive to give our guests the best experience possible and make them feel valued, welcomed, and comfortable. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff and we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 9/30 - 10/04/12. Kudos to hotel staff and management. Fantastic location. Easily accessible, simply put greatness for all areas. Desk clerks especially nice and friendly. Plentiful complementary breakfast. WE WILL SCRAMBLE TO STAY HERE AGAIN! Great value all around.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank br549kls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We try our best to meet our guest's expectations and are always happy when we hear that we were successful. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff, I'm sure they will be as thrilled as I am. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed here many times in the past 4-5 years when in the VA Beach area (usually 3-4 times a year). It's a real good location right alongside I-64 and adjacent to the mall (we like hitting the Long Horn Steakhouse down the street for their grilled shrimp, there's also a seafood restaurant right next to it too). The rooms are always clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff always friendly and helpful. The prices have increased a bit in the past couple of years, but it's still a solid value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ-RichardJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. We take pride in having a clean and comfortable hotel room. We are glad to have the opportunity to have a property in a great location with great restaurants around us. We too love the grilled shrimp at Long Horn Steakhouse. I will pass your review on to our front desk staff, they will be pleased to hear your comments. Hope to see you again when you travel back to the VA Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

i am a truck driver that travels in the hampton roads area of va often.after staying at several different hotels i have found a place to be at ease when away from home.there is a very relaxed attentive atmosphere here and i plan to return whenever i am in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms are supplied the same.the single king bed for 1 or 2 is great.if you have the need for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your visits to the Hampton roads area. We are very pleased that you are comfortable and relaxed when you stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Needed time away and a perfect hotel close to home. We found it! Everyone we meet was very nice and helpful. The desk went out of their way to give us directions and dinner ideas. They had large clean rooms with plenty of space to move around.. Love the new carpet and wallpaper can't wait to see what they do next. ps.. the outdoor pool was a plus...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Kay, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will share your kind words with the staff and encourage them to keep up the great work! We will be continuing our renovations this fall in our guest suites, we hope you come back and see our progress. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. Room was large and clean, with microwave and mini-fridge with separate freezer space. Flat screen with lots of channels (no pay-per-view which I never use anyway), cold A/C without any annoying rattles (LOVE IT!), free wireless internet was very fast, desk with lots of outlets and also USB ports for charging phones etc. Soundproofing seems to be good between rooms as I didn't hear anything and slept great. I didn't use the outdoor pool but it looked nice and clean. Breakfast was very good - I had eggs, bacon, pastry, a cinnamon donut, and a yogurt. The hotel is very close to lots of restaurants and retail which is very convenient. I got an excellent price on one of the opaque booking sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastToAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen V, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Chesapeake. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have an outstanding stay and we’re pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We know that many people read reviews and take a cue from guests like you and cannot thank you enough for taking the time out to post your feedback. We hope you come to visit us the next time you come to the area.
Sincerely,
Karen Vick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
0.3 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#6 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
#10 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1550 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chesapeake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#9 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chesapeake
Comfort Suites Chesapeake
Chesapeake Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing