We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
“Not a good place to stay...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful. That will be the only positive comment I can make about our stay. We were exhausted once we unpacked and prepared for the shower, there were bugs in the restroom – around the toilet and in the shower. They could not exchange our room for another room, with it being a holiday weekend nothing was available. Ok, we brushed it off as a fluke however the next night. Once again around 12:30am, we heard loud noises in the hallway. THEY CLEAN THE CARPETS AT NIGHT, or should I say earlier morning. Not only will you be entertained by the carpet cleaning however the conversations that are screamed over the cleaning noises are priceless. Complaining to Management I was told” Cleaning during the day there were complaints so they now Clean in the Early Am hours and I was the only person t hat complained and he wasn’t going to do anything to accommodate us due to the only fact that I was the only person that complained”! This place is just what it states a Cheap Place to Stay. Be prepared with Bug spray and Headsets! The Kitchen is closed, The workroom is closed, the Billiard room is close, but the bugs are open! Come on in!!!

Room Tip: Bring Bug spray and headsets. If anything goes wrong don't bother the Owner/Manager once your ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
14
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Not sure what earlier reviewers were saying about it not being a Marriott property. As of 8/24/12 the sign and bill both say Marriott. I don't think they could get away with that if it wasn't so. Friendly staff, clean room and very nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkybob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I did get an email about property no longer being a Marriott, so I called about reservation and found out NO MORE BREAKFAST and NO POOL (drained). Kept my reservation, but they told me I had to prepay one night to guarantee. (huh?!). Staff was unprofessional and some lived there... Walking around in lounge attire. Didn't like being greeted at front desk by lady wearing tank top with lots of tattoos showing (nothing against tattoos - just unprofessional ). Service was poor at best.
Some of the housekeepers shouted down the hall... Nice distraction while trying to work in the room. The only reason I didn't stay elsewhere is because I needed a suite and my daughter was at a softball camp across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanatah Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had this Hotel booked since March. At that time it was a Marriott. We were not informed of the sale of this Hotel, and after driving over 900 miles in torrential downpours for our nephew's wedding, we were told this was no longer a Marriott and they would not be able to give us a room as they were booked up solid. As seasidechick301 wrote, we had also called to confirm our reservation, and we were not informed of the change. We were told that as long as we had our confirmation we were fine. Not the case. After many phone calls to Marriott... we finally got our room. They had told us over and over there were No rooms to be had, but then after Marriott spoke to them suddenly they had a room, but for $20 more.. long story short.. Marriott said we would Not pay more than the original room rate...so, this woman who was adamant that they had absolutely No rooms, then asked me if I wanted a room with One bed or Two.... Amazing that someone could lie lie lie and still look in the mirror.. unbelievable. !!!!!! Thank God Marriott helped us get in. They were obviously lied to as well. This new place said that Marriott over booked.. lies lies and more lies...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! very sad world we live in. Do Not stay at Suites 4 Less unless you want to pay more and get ripped off !!!!!!! and Lied to .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is no longer a Marriott. We were never informed off the change. Our reservations for 2 rooms and our large family were not honored. We called to confirm reservations the night before and still no one told us this was a Suites 4 Less and they confirmed via email and on the phone. Upon arrival, no rooms. No Marriott. Calling Marriott's central phone number did not help- we asked for other locations to find lodging and were put on hold several times for longer than 20 minutes while Marriot employess tried to figure out what was going on with this location. Luckily the nearby Hampton Inn helped us with accomodations. This hotel was awful. How can you not honor reservations or inform customers of such a big change? To add insult to injury we got an email asking "how was your stay"?!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seasidechick301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The employees go above and beyond. There was a huge hockey team staying here and they were able to keep them and us happy. It got loud but they made sure to keep us all happy. The breakfast was very good. Highlt rec. this hotel. Only negative is the scratchy sheets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Large, comfy rooms. Beds were comfortable, had 2 flat screen tv's in our room. Each room comes with refrig, microwave, and little sink. Large desk area to work at. Friendly staff. Great location. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent, there was waffles, breakfast cereal bars, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, and muffin assortments. The staff was on top of it when one person took something from the breakfast area, it was immediately replaced. One downfall for this hotel, which is why I didn't score it excellent was the hot tub. It was by far the nasiest I have ever seen, water was a brownish color, and looked greasy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chl0e01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#29 of 42 in Chesapeake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road

Property: Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
Address: 2424 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321 (Formerly SpringHill Suites)
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing