We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Food, and Ambience”

The Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 633 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Local friends took us to The Downtown Grille, describing it as the best restaurant in C'ville. Blake, out waiter greeted us and answered questions on the menu. The stars here are the grilled meat, and I decided on medium rare. The chops were perfectly cooked with a nice, smokey flavor. The wine list featured a number of local wine, and we choose the King Heritage that pared perfectly with our dishes. Make sure you reserve, as this is a very popular place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander797827, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thanks for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and had a fun evening out, that's what we want for all out guests. We can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Of you are looking for a place with a relaxing atmosphere, fabulous food and amazing service this is place to go! Started of with Fried green tomatoes, candied bacon & fried oysters. Main course was 8oz filet and Crab cakes with mashed potatoes and onion crisps. Everything was fresh and expertly cooked! Add a bottle of Jekel wine with Raspberry sorbet and it was the perfect birthday dinner. Our server, Michael was knowledgeable, attentive and made the dining experience completely! Make sure to ask for his section when you visit! We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander797827, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for spending time with us on your special day. Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are so thankful you took the time to tell us how your visit was and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Always a delight. Fine dining and you get what you pay for. Wonderful meal and excellent service always. Their filet mignon is divine as is their key lime pie. The after dinner coffee is the best - brewed just for them my Shenandoah Joe's.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Explorer86233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander797827, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

We appreciate you coming in and letting us know​ your filet was incredible and overall always a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We had the belly pork candid (which tasted a bit like ham hock) but was nice and the friend oysters. We both had the fillet steak special with pate and vegetables which was very good albeit a bit expensive. Service and atmosphere good but as it was a Sunday evening a little quiet.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander797827, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

We appreciate you coming in. We hope you had a lovely time and will remember us for a future special evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Food was excellent, well prepared and presented. Normally a New York strip
Is not flavorful....but mine was delicious! Sides were plentiful as well to share.
Waitstaff was awesome! Very knowledgeable about menu and wines.
Very broad selection of wines to choose from.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank joysN1207MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meander797827, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

We appreciate your 5 star review; it's always wonderful to know how our guests enjoyed their visits. We're so glad our staff was attentive, and that you enjoyed your steak. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing