We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Drinks & Atmosphere”
Review of Downtown Grille

Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friends and I were in Charlottesville, Va to visit Thomas Jefferson's home, Monticello. After a great tour of this historic home we were starving. One of the gift shop workers recommended we visit Main street in downtown Charlottesville where they have plenty of restaurants and shops. This area was so quaint and charming we walked the roughly 5 blocks of shops and places to eat. All of a sudden we smelled the magnetic scent of STEAK.... we followed our noses to the Downtown Grille. This was one of the best steaks I've had outside of Los Angeles & NYC and the martini was even better. A funny thing about the side orders is that we were told they are family style and they were. But ordering a baked potato we did not anitcipate the family style for this dish. But it was, the biggest baked potato I ever seen. It could feed 4, whoa!. This place is not inexpensive, we were a table of 3 who ordered steaks/fish, an appetizer and salad, a drink each and side dishes with dessert and the tab was roughly $177.00 (without tip). Coming from Los Angeles I did not think this was unreasonable for a 5 star steak place, I merely state this for those on a budget and don't want a surprise. If you have the dough to spend this is a great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christmastree15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you! We're so happy you followed your "nose" and found us-very glad you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 424 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate at the Downtown Grill again yesterday, for its good food, excellent service, and most importantly, quiet corners in the back if you arrive early for dinner. My mother-in-law finds it very difficult to have a conversation over dinner in most restaurants, because of the noise.

At Downtown Grill, if you go early and ask for a table in the back of the main room or the separate room in the back, you get to enjoy your conversation while having soft music in the background (Jazz when we were last there on Saturday March 16th).

The food is very good and consistent. My favorable was the filet mignon. My mother-in-law liked her scallop very much. My husband enjoyed the tuna. One vegetable side dish--brocollini this time--was more than enough for all 3 of us and was very good. The service was outstanding.

Highly recommendated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edgeworth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice review! We're happy you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times. Love it Love it. I have never been disappointed. The service is spot on, the presentation perfect, no delay in courses. Perfect. The steaks are actually exactly what you order..no "I ordered med-rare and this is.." perfect and exact. The sides are varied and superb. The ambiance is ideal, private yet allowing interactive, often boisterous discourse without concern of disturbing nearby patrons. Great wine list. Professional, yet quite interactive servers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travelrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Worth the money, a quality restaurant and steak that is absolutely divine. Portions are generous and I would suggest that side orders are large enough for two or three people to share.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice review - we're happy you enjoyed your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

this is white tablecloth, get dressed up, and take the in-laws...the braised short ribs may be something "bad" for you, but if only!!! They are amazing, and so is the service. Your server will be very knowledgeable about the wine list, too.

1  Thank amybre_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review - we're happy you enjoyed everything (and those braised ribs:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing