We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected charm and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Silver Thatch Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I, along with a friend from out of town, had a delightful stay at the Silver Thatch. From the moment we arrived, our Innkeeper, Dyan was so friendly, first giving us a tour of the inn with genuine enthusiasm, until the time we left as she helpfully dumped ice in our little cooler. We had a wonderful dinner in the parlor with locally sourced produce, and two delectable breakfasts. Our rooms were spacious, immaculate and cool, surprising in this historic building on a hot day. We liked being a little out of town, to escape for hiking and vineyard tastings more easily.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

We called to see if there was vacancy on a Sunday afternoon and Jim told us to come on over and we are glad we did. We drove by a couple of B&Bs in Charlottesville but really wanted to stay outside of town away from traffic, etc. Terri greeted us and took us on a tour and couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. We didn't arrive until around 5:00 p.m. but were still accommodated for a glass of very nice VA wine and fantastic dinner. Jim and Terri Petrovits, the owners and innkeepers, couldn't have been more hospitable and helpful. Terri even took the time to look up B&Bs in Culpeper on the web for us since we thought we might stay over there on our way home. Breakfast was great! Highly recommended! btw - Terri goes in for Halloween in a big way...might want to scheduled your trip to Charlottesville then! Thanks Jim & Terri - I hope you get your lighted eyeballs in time for Halloween!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwcspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Much better than you think when you arrive. This Inn is just off a busy main highway (29) and on what appears to be a housing estate. Clearly and old building by US standards, the property is currently being decorated. It has a rather faded look BUT the warm welcome from the Bar Manager and owners soon dispells this. The hotel staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, maps and routes were provided suggestions made and coffee provided in the morning from 7am. We ate each of our two nights at the hotel, because we did not fancy driving down the busy main road into downtown, however the restaurant meals we excellent. Really good quality ingredients, imaginatively presented and perfectly served by an attentive waitress. Large room (Thomas Jefferson), with king size bed, ample bathroom and all the facilities you associate with Select registry Inns, of which this is one.

The Pub style bar, is pleasant for before and after dinner drinks and bar staff chatty and pleasant.
Despite its proximity to the main road, there was no traffic noise. Plentiful parking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosesGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This was our 2nd year in a row to visit Silver Thatch in early August. We really feel like "friends" of the owners, Terri & Jim, not just clients. It has been our privilege to, in essence, help preserve a wonderful old house by supporting the business that enables keeping it in good repair!

Is this a 5-star luxury hotel? No. And if that is your expectation, go stay in a high-rise downtown. But you cannot buy or manufacture the atmosphere that pervades a place like this. It is small and intimate with personal service.

Over dinner, we chatted with other guests and compared our finds at local wineries. We also shared a singular experience, compliments of Mother Nature. Right in the middle of dinner, a thunderstorm knocked out power to the entire area. But Chef Ed persevered with NO working fans in the kitchen, cooking by candlelight to make sure every guest was fed.

Last year, not realizing there was a "dress code" for dinner, we'd packed for a casual trip. But after checking with the staff, they assured us there would be no problem accommodating us for dinner.

We've been in the Monroe room both times, quite by chance (it's what was available), but we've been very comfortable there. And the new heat pump this year was extremely quiet. About the only thing I would add is more desk/table space.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bama_Grits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My girlfriend and I visited the Silver Thatch this past weekend. Having never stayed at a bed and breakfast, the Silver Thatch was exactly what we were looking for and it exceeded our expectations.

We did a great deal of research on the best bed and breakfasts in the Charlottesville area and we really liked what we read about the Silver Thatch. We were certainly not disappointed. We loved the Jefferson room and highly recommend it to potential visitors!

Our dinner at the Silver Thatch was superb on the night we arrived. After driving nearly 8 hours coming back from North Carolina, it was so nice to have a true dining experience. The prices are fair for the high quality food and there is a great (and extensive) wine list with choices at all price points.

The breakfasts each morning were wonderful. We loved the granola pancakes and I wish I had gotten the recipe for the coffee cake on the second day. Terri and Jim (the owners) and the Innkeeper do a great job of talking to each couple and making you feel special.

We really appreciated how attentive and helpful the owners and the staff were during our stay, especially in quickly getting the air conditioner fixed in our room. They actually got us a brand new unit that was quieter than the previous unit.

Should we find ourselves back in Charlottesville (which I think is quite likely) we would not hesitate to stay at the Silver Thatch!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvogelgwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Silver Thatch was an excellent place to stay. We stayed in the very large Thomas Jefferson room. The huge bed was comfortable and the working fireplace was a nice touch. The bathroom was clean and recently painted, thus an annoying smell of paint, which was the only complaint we have. Although we visited in the winter, I would be careful in the summer because the heating/ac unit is rather loud and could definitely keep you up. Breakfasts were wonderful, especially the coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at the Silver Thatch Inn for a weekend getaway. The location is just north of Charlottesville, but close enough to downtown. The innkeepers were very friendly and accommodating. The room was on the small side, but had all of the nice amenities such as a nice small flat-screened television. Breakfast was good, but the menu was very limited (and should have been more of a choice of breads and muffins) although the innkeeper was kind to allow for a substitution.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
6.5 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#12 of 37 in Charlottesville
723 reviews
5.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
720 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn at 400 West High
The Inn at 400 West High
#4 of 16 in Charlottesville
150 reviews
7.2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Thatch Inn

Address: 3001 Hollymead Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-7422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $219 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful farmhouse dating back to 1780, Silver Thatch Inn offers 7 lovely guest rooms (The Cottage is perfect for up to 4 couples, or reserve the entire Inn for gatherings), room to roam & hang in the Main Inn, and lots of hospitality. Included is Terri's delicious full breakfast each morning, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking, N/A beverages, our community swimming pool, a patio & backyard to enjoy peace & quiet with an adult beverage or coffee, & a great neighborhood for walking & jogging. The Hessian room built in 1780, 1812, 1937 & 1985, the Inn is full of history! All rooms offer private baths, 4 with fireplaces, all queen or king beds. Jefferson's Monticello, UVA, Monroe's Highland, Monticello Wine Trail, Brew Ridge Trail to sample Virginia's award winning wines, artisan brews & ciders, all within a short drive in our gorgeous Virginia countryside. Check out our Events, just added - Tea & History w/Rick Britton, & new this year, Spirit Investigations! And always, our Specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Silver Thatch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Thatch Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing