We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silver Thatch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Silver Thatch Inn
Carlingford, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and had a very pleasant, restful stay. The owners Jim & Terri Petrovits were excellent hosts, with great breakfast options to suit my husbands diet restrictions without placing those same restrictions on my choices. Jim and terri are both excellent cooks so the standard of breakfast fare is exceptional. The Inn is steeped in history and provided a quiet oasis away from the noise. Located in a residential area there was no traffic noise. We stayed in the Tyler Room, even though it was cold outside we never had to light the fire as the air conditioning was adequate for us. Bottled water was provided each day for our travels and the welcoming biscuits were excellent, the bar was open for afternoon drinks.The location was perfect , eveything we needed was within a 10 minute drive, historic Charlottesville, many restaurant and shopping choices. Terri and Jim suggested several options for dinner each evening, all were really great. Driving to local historical attractions that were a bit further away such as Monticello, Ash Lawn Highgrove and Mitchie Tavern was no problem for out of towners. We also used the free trolley bus in Charlottesville to explore UVA, in particular the UVA Art Gallery - Terri had advised us of the current exhibitions. This was our first visit to Charlottesville and we will return to the Silver Thatch,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tyler room which was great, it is on the ground floor in a separate cottage from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words. It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us. I also am still enjoying my gift, which is teaching me so much. So appreciated. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    14
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
110
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for a few restful days after dealing with family business. The quiet neighborhood setting and the attention of the owners were just what we wanted. Breakfast is wonderful. We took advantage of their winter special for two nights. Since we were there to relax and go to Monticello, not to UVA campus or the downtown area, the location was fine. We did not hear any noise from the local airport. We really like older houses and this one is authentic. It is the right combination of colonial decor and modern convenience.

Room Tip: The Jefferson is the largest room in the main house and where we stayed. If you have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad we could give you a place to rest, refresh and renew, which is exactly why we do what we do! Feedback is always very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I have been to The Silver Thatch Inn so many times that we've become friends with the owners, Jim and Terri Petrovits. Obviously, we love staying here. The inn simply oozes with history, but the modern amenities are there. Recently, TVs have been added to the rooms. All the rooms are furnished in keeping with the inn's historic flavor and are always pristine with delightful little touches such as homemade cookies upon check-in. Terri and Jim will go out of their way to see that your stay is hassle free. They know the Charlottesville area well and are happy to suggest places to go, things to do, no matter what time of year. Breakfast is a gastronomic pleasure. Up until 2012, there was a superb restaurant open for dinner. Although they decided to close it, there is still a cozy pub room where you can relax with a glass of wine, beer or other beverage and enjoy the general ambiance. The location is within an easy drive to UVA, Monticello and other points of interest. Why stay at a chain hotel, when The Silver Thatch Inn is available?

Room Tip: We prefer staying in either the Jefferson or Madison Room, but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puddin12609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
It's always special when guests return, especially when they've been frequent guests over the years. Did I say guests? More like family, and that's really special. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We enjoyed a nice evening in the James Madison room! It was clean, charming, and comfortable. Fireplace was a nice touch. Bathroom was nice and shower pressure was great!
Much nicer than staying in one of the chain hotels closer to Charlottesville, but not a luxurious stay and a bit removed from UVA and downtown Charlottesville. (Didn't know there was so much traffic in Charlottesville!) For a B&B, it was quite nice and Terri was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terripetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, and it's always good to meet people from 'home.' Being an easy 6 miles north of UVA gives our guests the chance to explore Charlottesville, enjoy the energy and excitement of UVA sports, the bustle of our downtown area, then head back to the peace and quiet of the Inn for a good night's sleep. We hope your trip home was uneventful with all the weather, and we're so sorry you missed our signature breakfast, but hopefully next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Silver Thatch Inn is a very nice facility with friendly and attentive inn keepers, Terry and Jim. While we had some thoughts on where we would be going, Terry helped us refine our plan. Breakfasts were wonderful. The location is also convenient to numerous activities in the Charlottesville area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much! It's always a pleasure to talk with guests about all we have to offer in and around our Charlottesville! There is so much to see and do here and we're happy to help with planning to maximize your time and enjoyment during your visit. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a nicely furnished and equipped room. Terry and Jim met us on the first evening, gave us a free beer and wine in the bar, and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. Our room was beautifully furnished with a king size bed, robes and bathroom amenities, plus full wifi.

Breakfast included special home cooked dishes to set us up for each day. The B&B is around 10 minutes drive from the Main Street, and there are restaurants just around the corner if you're in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuffer81A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Manager at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely comments! Being an innkeeper is all about taking care of people and doing what we can to ensure our guests enjoy their visit to Charlottesville. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Charming bed and breakfast ..... Oh really fabulous breakfasts! Jim and Terry are great hosts, friendly and make you feel so welcome. We enjoyed the Madison Room, cozy with a fireplace and sitting area. They have a small tavern to enjoy drinks before a night on the town. Good location for visiting wineries and downtown area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank knittycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Charlottesville! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.6 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
6.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Thatch Inn

Property: The Silver Thatch Inn
Address: 3001 Hollymead Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-7422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Thatch Inn is a VA country farmhouse offering 7 guest rooms & southern hospitality. Your stay includes a delicious full breakfast each morning, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking, N/A beverages, our community swimming pool, great neighborhood for walking/jogging/birding, relaxing patio & backyard for sipping a craft beer or iced tea. Circa 1780 with additions in 1812, 1937 & 1985, the Inn is steeped in history! All rooms are individually climate controlled, some with wood burning fireplaces, all with private baths. We don't share & we don't want you to! Iggy's Wine & Brew Pub, a neighborhood pub at the Inn, offers lite fare, local & national craft & traditional favorite brews, tasty wine & live music by the locals on occasion. Open Wed-Sat 5 - 8-ish. Many great area restaurants, Jefferson's Monticello, the University of Virginia, Monroe's Ashlawn-Highland, Monticello Wine Trail and Brew Ridge Trail to sample Virginia's award winning wines and artisan brews and hard ciders. All within a short drive in the gorgeous Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Thatch Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing